We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Comfortable”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Peech Hotel twice during a recent stay in South Africa, before and after a safari at the Tanda Tula lodge. The Peech is a small boutique hotel in the Melrose area of Johannesburg about a fifteen minute walk from Melrose Arch, a larger complex of shops restaurants and hotels. It is very close too to the Wanderers Stadium and sports complex.

The hotel has well manicured grounds and well appointed rooms that are perfectly comfortable and offer all the home comforts that you would need. There is also a small bistro at the hotel that we dined at once during our visit - food was good and priced in line with the local area. Breakfasts are good with a wide range of options on the menu.

There were only two small issues that arose during our visit that are worthy of mention; firstly I did not feel that some of the reception staff were particularly knowledgeable about the local area when seeking advice about reservations and booking etc, Secondly the hotel uses a firm of private hire vehicles when you ask for a taxi; in our experience these were more expensive than using metered taxis (180R for a return trip to Melrose) - if you are a limited budget then you might do well to remember this as metered taxis are not generally offered by the reception desk.

Other than the those two small points I would recommend the Peech Hotel for a stay in Jo'burg

Room Tip: Ask for metered taxis f you do not want to pay over the odds for local trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I will look into our taxi prices with our supplier as they should be in line with regular cabs off the street - a bit of inflation may have crept in so we will check... We will also get our front desk staff orientated in the area as some of them are I admit new joinees. Thanks for letting us know! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 586 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great place to stay in excellent gardens , central located to largest shopping centre and easy access . Food was great , staff very attentive would certainly use again. Well organised and well arranged.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. I will be sure to share it with all the team here. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights at the beginning and end of a two week holiday in South Africa. It is a small, friendly hotel with very comfortable bedrooms, large en suite bathroom with full bath and walk in shower. All is modern, clean and attractive. The dining room offers excellent bistro style food and the staff are friendly and attentive. They were kind enough to let us keep our room till 5.00pm on the day we left at no extra charge as it was not booked for the next night. We would certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony overlooking the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueHodgson1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them to the team. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed a night at the peech hotel as a stopover between flights. When collected at airport I wondered why our agents had booked us a hotel with a 30minute drive from the airport, but when we got there we were so glad they did. It's a lovely boutique hotel with beautiful gardens and a delightful ambience. The food was very good and inexpensive. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant and the room and bed were extremely comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the iPod docking and the tv with all the sports channels. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a Johannesburg city stopover.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to share them with our team here. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Peech Hotel is beautiful. When you walk out of reception, into the gardens
they literally take your breath away. Everything is so neat
and clean and beautifully laid out. The second best view is sitting in
the restaurant at the window and looking out at the gardens and the pool.

Regarding the accommodation, our room was spacious,
comfortable and very quiet. Loved the private patio outside the bedroom.
Enormous bathroom, with a large bath and a really large shower!!
On arriving at the restaurant for dinner, we were greeted by Oscar, who in no
time at all, had us seated at a table with the best view. Dinner was superb and
the service incredible. We had the pleasure of meeting Hilton who
was an absolute treat. He kept popping over to chat and went out of his way
to make us feel both welcomed and at home!

Everyone we came across was kind, courteous and very helpful
and even although the hotel was fully booked, it still remained
quiet and exceptionally peaceful. Thoroughly enjoyed meeting Peeches,
the resident cat. Without a doubt, I would definitely return for another
visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I will be sure to share it with the team. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel offered a clean and spacious room, excellent front desk service, and very good food. The grounds are pretty, with a small pool and larger patio area that was nice when we went (during the summer).

The location isn't terrific because it's about half an hour from the airport and not too close to shops/restaurants, though there are some at Melrose nearby. We relied on our own arranged driver to get around, though the front desk could call cabs if needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not feel our location was right for you - we are in a residential area - and so away from the hussle and bussle of the city. I'm glad all else was good with your stay. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

What's great find. I lie - I had actually found it before, stayed and wrote just as glowing review. Again, I really couldn't have had a better time at the Peech. Staff friendly and attentive, great food and great decor. A very comfortable three days. To be repeated..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelguest75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We really appreciate your review and I will be sure to share it with the team here. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
443 reviews
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $174 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing