We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No More Cheesecake”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

With almost everything a tourist could ask for, ambiance, cleanliness, service, privacy, and plenty of space the Peech Hotel would almost add up to everything that we wanted. The only downfall that we discovered is that you cant have your own personal buffet of sweets in your room. My fiance and I went to JB's in Melrose Arch, and loaded down with deserts that would surely satisfy a "small army" or put you into a sugar coma. Our buffet consisted of huge servings of Lemon Meringue pie, Carrot cake, chocolate cheesecake and original cheesecake. After indulging in a very well prepared take away dinner from SWAD: The Royal taste of India, we polished off the carrot cake, part of the Lemon Meringue and afterwards fell deep into our sugar comas. Around 2 am, we awoke in hopes of finishing off what we had started, with two huge helpings of cheesecake, only to find a "small army" of ants had beaten us to it. The hotel staff was quick to respond and help us clean up but the disappointment was brutal. Other than this the Peech hotel is a great choice. The staff is very friendly and provides great hospitality. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, allowing for your privacy and comfort. Although the mattresses are firm and the owl outside your window serves as the alarm clock, the nights are very quiet, relaxing and safe. Each room has its own balcony or private terrace with a clear view of the courtyard. Melrose Arch and Rosebank Mall are within walking distance of the hotel and have plenty of shops and restaurants. Using On Track Tours we ventured all over the city with ease, never having to worry about or wait for a taxi. They tailored our tours to meet our needs and desires of visiting Joberg at a very reasonable cost. Overall, we would recommend this hotel, just keep in mind you might want to finish your food, before the ants do.

Room Tip: All 16 rooms are the same except for the 2 that are suites.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

I am so sorry your cakes got taken over by our local ants. They have become quite adventurous! Tarryn, our General Manager, and I are waging war on them and we have a practical solution. Sorry this won't resuscitate your cakes but we are delighted the rest of your stay was good. If you do come back the cheesecakes on us! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for The Peech Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 566 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was my second extended stay at The Peech so it was a great opportunity to see whether it has stood the test of time. The answer is a resounding "YES". The owner (much in evidence every day) and the charming, efficient staff ensured that my expectations were met and my fond memories were re-confirmed. This time I stayed for more than a week and never regretted a moment of it. The rooms are very well appointed and surround a lovely, quiet garden; the terrace is an ideal place to sit and work (with free, fast wifi); and the food is excellent. After about three days all the staff make you feel like one of the family (although unlike some family members they are all charming). It is a testament to The Peech that many of the other guests were on even longer stays with executives from Europe and US who call The Peech their "home" staying for weeks on end. Each of them said they found this an ideal base from which to work and to relax - I believe you get access to the health club next door through a gate in the garden wall but I never made it beyond the hospitable little bar!! I also discovered this is a super place to entertain as they effortlessly accommodated a party of 14 for Sunday lunch (even though we had to move hurriedly indoors because of the traditional Johannesburg summer afternoon thunderstorm). If you are going to Joburg don't miss staying at The Peech. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely comments. I will make sure the team get to read them - they will be delighted! Kind regards James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

service was excellent, great boutique hotel! rooms were very spacious and well decorated. bathrooms are really big too with a bathtub and shower. television provided in the room and free wifi as well, although there is a data cap. food in the restaurant is pretty good as well. hotel location is good, close to shopping areas like melrose. safe neighbourhood (as it is a rich neighbourhood with lots of big houses closeby), so you can walk feeling secure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments & I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to tell the team. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Spent the day relaxing at the peech.
Great food
Very pleasant staff
Well priced
Only issue was finding the place using TomTom (could do with being added to the TomTom satnav listing)
Staying here again in a few days - really looking forward to it

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to having you back. Kind regards, James Peech.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here with my wife whilst exploring SA. What can I say apart from fantastic boutique hotel. We met Mr Peech whilst we there, and what a lovely chap. He gave us some very good advice on wine choice, and also included us in a random wine tasting of some SA wines. The staff were very helpful in organising everything for us that we needed. We visited the Apartheid Museum, SA Military Museum (great exhibits) and Melrose Arch during our stay - the hotel organised a driver and car for us during our stay which was well worth doing. The food in the restaurant was very good - (curry very tasty). Guests have use of internet if they require. Room was very clean and sizeable with all the amenities that you would expect. The gardens were lovely, and gave the appearance of a little oasis in a bustling city. Would have no hesitation in recommending this accomodation to other travellers to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordy646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments; and I am delighted that our wine recommendation lived up to expactions! Kind regards, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week trip to South Africa. We were stopping in J'burg for longer than the typical tourist because we were seeing relatives there. The Peech is a very peaceful and comfortable boutique hotel. Far preferable for our family than a larger hotel. The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is excellent--smart food, but presented in a relaxed way. The staff was very attentive. The arranged for an excellent tour guide--Kieran to drive us. The day in Soweto and the Apartheid museum equalled any other part of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael05401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your comment and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to tell my team and Kearan as well. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We visit South Africa regularly as a family, often travelling through Johannesburg. The Peech was recommended to us, and on every visit has offered outstanding service as well as immaculate rooms. We love the tranquility it provides, yet that it manages to still be friendly and welcoming to our three children. Nothing is ever too much trouble, and the rooms are so large that even with an extra bed, there is plenty of space. The pool and terrace offer a chance to relax in an oasis of calm - rare in bustling Johannesburg. Breakfasts are varied and delicious, and the chef has always been more than willing to accommodate specific requests on any meal. Staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful. Overall, can't fault it, and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Downstairs garden rooms are quieter if there is one of Johannesburg's spectacular thunderstorms!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. I will be sure to tell the team who will be delighted to hear you had another great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again...! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
615 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $201 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing