We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

A beautiful hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Accommodation was spacious and well-appointed and the meals were lovely. What really capped it off was the way in which the staff engaged with us .... not stuffy or aloof, friendly, professional, respectful and incredibly helpful. We made a last minute decision to take a tour of Soweto, and they organised a great tour without fuss.

We'll definitely be back, and we recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAndMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thanks you so much for your kind words. I will make sure the team hear them and they will be delighted you had a good stay. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

After 4 days on safari we were booked into The Peech expecting some warmth, showers and finer accommodations (the bush was nice, but after all, there is only so much to expect there). After two hours here, we have found the rooms cold (they delivered a few space heaters), the lights have gone out twice, the second time during the brisk shower I was taking - no hot water either. A guest who was leaving advised me to turn on the air conditioner fan and keep the electric blankets turned up.

After spending a couple of nights at the Southern Sun by the airport earlier in the month, where we had a splendid stay, cannot figure out what the attraction is. It is not the experience of dropping our bags, relaxing and cleaning up that we expected.

Completely disappointed and angry.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcraiglefebvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review us & I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have been through what went wrong with the team and we will be making changes. We have up-grades to the rooms scheduled this spring and will address the electricity supply and the heating in the rooms both of which caused the problems you experienced. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is the second time we have ended a safari in Africa with a stay in a nice hotel in Johannesburg with the intention of “spoiling” ourselves before the harsh reality of another year of work sets in. The last time we chose the Westcliff but because of the horrible old room they put us in & the arrogant attitude of the staff at the front desk it rather backfired! This time it definitely didn’t and as others have said what a wonderful find the Peech Hotel is. We had time to spare on arrival into Jo’burg from Uganda so decided to rent a car & drive ourselves to the Peech Hotel. This was very easy, once you find the correct freeway you just travel around the outside of the city on a ring road (all freeway) & take the Corlett Dr exit and 10 minutes later you are there. As expected in Jo’burg the Hotel is surrounded by a high security fence & there is closed circuit TV observing the surroundings. We didn’t have to speak into the gate intercom, they saw we were in a rental car & opened the gate. There is a small car park and someone came out immediately to assist us with our luggage. If you choose to drive here yourself I would suggest hiring a compact car as the car park can fill up & once we were just able to squeeze our VW Polo in but that was it, the car park was full. Having said that I am sure they would take care of your car for you if you left the keys with them.
The duty manager greeted us once inside & gave us an intelligent run down of the Hotel & its services. We were a little late for lunch but that wasn’t a problem and other requests like changing some money and arranging for a late check out the next day were granted without any problems at all.
We had decided to reserve a Garden suite & it was an absolutely wonderful room with all the space you could possibly want. The room was light & airy & completely surrounded by windows with louvers on them you could close if you wanted to. The bathroom was positively huge & the whole room was very tastefully decorated & in excellent condition. All amenities in the room worked faultlessly and all furniture including the bed were blissfully comfortable. There is a novel idea of an easy chair hanging from the ceiling, sort of like a large hanging basket & it is a lot of fun to sit in. We fought each other for the right to relax sitting in this chair!! There is quite a lot of reading material in the room in the form of high quality magazines.
As I have already said we arranged a late checkout the following day as our flight to Perth didn’t depart till late in the evening. We were not able to stay on in the suite as it was already booked but we were moved to a garden room and charged a nominal rate for the daily use of it. This was great as we got to see another type of room on offer here. The garden rooms are also nice but more compact and don't include such niceties as the impressive coffee maker that the suites have that use the modern coffee pellets that are ejected after use, for instance you just get a jug & instant coffee instead which is also fine. When we last stayed at the Westcliff and asked for a late checkout it was a bit like pulling teeth & after a battle trying to get a decision from them & having to wait a couple of hours for them to tell us (by slipping a note under our door) they graciously granted us 1 extra hour in the room or for us to pay for another full nights accommodation to stay much later. Maybe this is to be expected but to the credit of the Peech hotel they were able to meet our needs where the Westcliff were not able to.
On our full day here we drove ourselves to the Lion Park on the suggestion of the duty manager which we found easily and had a good visit there, returning late to the Hotel and we had another late lunch before setting out to the Airport. The 2 lunches, 1 Dinner and a breakfast were exceptionally good as was the service received and the waiter’s knowledge of the wine list was very good & he provided us with several excellent recommendations for wine. The quality of food served here is very high indeed and I would suspect they have a great many diners that are not house guests using their restaurant. This is a great choice in Jo’burg for either business or pleasure, the property is so quiet & secluded you can easily forget the crazy metropolis just outside the gates. It is the sort of place that you don’t want to tell too many people about but one has to return the favour by reviewing the property for other trip advisor members!!

Room Tip: Garden suites are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words. The team will be delighted to hear all your comments. Many thanks! James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have used the Peech several times for both business and pleasure and have always had a pleasant stay. It is always a friendly welcome and the rooms are spotless every time. I would say it is more like staying with friends than in a hotel. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linzey0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thanks you so much for your review. I will make sure the whole team get your wonderful comments. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We spent two nights at the Peech in May 2011. This was our second stay at the Peech and we have thoroughly enjoyed both our stays. The rooms and the common areas are very well furnished and maintained. The main building is an old house that has been converted to the reception area and the restaurant. The rooms are in a series of detached buildings in a walled compound with very nice alndscaping. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood close to Melrose Arch. We ate at Melrose Arch one night and the Peech arranged for our transportation. We will definitely stay here our next trip to Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words. I will make sure all the team get to read them! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We are ex S.Africans living in Australia who return to S.A twice a year to visit family.We usually stay with friends and this time weren't able to and had to find a hotel.We usually chose Boutique Hotels when we travel and ,knowing JHB really well ,were very apprehensive that we'd find what we were accustomed to.The Peech Hotel ticked all the boxes for us: Great Location, quiet, impeccable service, beautifully appointed and spacious rooms and the most friendly staff .Nothing was too much trouble and little touches, like the Hotel Manager going out and purchasing cereals and bread for my husband who is on a low GI diet was so much appreciated.We stayed for a week , went away for 8 nights and couldn't wait to return to the Peech for the last week because we felt so at home there.We will ALWAYS stay here in the future and reccommend The Peech whenever possible.They deserve all the compliments and accolades they've already received on this forum...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Thank you so much for all your compliments. The team and I much appreciate you sharing them and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The Peech is a quality establishment with a great team dedicated to ensuring your stay is an enjoyable one. I highly recommend this hotel as a good central base if you happen to be in Johannesburg for business of pleasure.
The wireless internet service is better than most I have experienced within African hotels.
Having the option of being able to use the Planet Fitness gymnasium facilities (fitness classes, gym, pool, sauna) that are next door to the Peech, for only R90 for the length of your stay, is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
795 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $229 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing