We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peech Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$299
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$186
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$213
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$93
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
$86
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$189
$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveler rating
468
123
18
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
123
18
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelmelrose archwanderers cricketresident catgarden roomgreat boutiquean oasismain buildingsmall hotelsmall poollong flightstayed for one nightrooms are largeapartheid museumsouthern africatravel agentwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 618 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2007

My partner and I were in Jo'burg for a few days in route to Zambia and our travel agent put us at the Peech Hotel. I generally always try to stay at boutique hotels as I find they are more intimate and enjoyable than the big chains. The Peech is a very lovely hotel in the Melrose area, with roughly 10 rooms, a pool, and a bistro on site. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the one meal we had in the bistro was excellent with very good service. Some drawbacks are that not all the rooms have air conditioning, the neighborhood is not very safe at night (although you are very safe on the property), and the hotels preferred transportation service is not very reliable. We also had some concerns about the hotels vendors - we booked a Soweto tour through the hotel and were disappointed in the tour experience overall. However, as for the hotel itself, we were very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MCaseNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

We we looking for something a bit more special and individual than your usual chain hotel for the last night of our honeymoon before flying back to the UK. It was just a stop over. But we had a fantastic time at The Peech. IT's a small (10 or 12 rooms) modern boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and beautifully decorated, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make it special as it was our honeymoon. We loved the food in their Bistro - we booked the romantic package which included dinner (and you can pick what you want of their menu) and it was incredibly good value. We could have paid a lot more to stay in the Hilton or Sun Intercontinental and it would have been more boring and we would have been just another guest in a sea of many. In all, we would have loved to spend a few more days there and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tiredmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Spent a couple of nights at this lovely little boutique hotel in Johannesburg's Melrose District and was very impressed.

The decor was very modern, clean and comfortable. I think there are 8 suites in the complex and we stayed in room 6, which was an upper (second level) suite. Gorgeous large space with very comfortable king-sized bed and very large bathroom with a full tub and separate shower all nicely appointed with modern fixtures.

We had dinner both nights at the onsite restaurant and were suitably impresed with the wines and the menu selection. Food was good as was the service. The included breakfasts were also pretty decent.

Never had a chance to enjoy the outdoor pool but did have a few drinks sitting poolside.

The complex was also very secure (Security guard, front gate and large perimter wall with electric fence), which was comforting but it seemed like a pretty decent area of Joburg.

There was some issues with the wireless internet but the operations manager told us they were having problems with the carrier, so out of their control.

The Peech is a definite "Do Again" when in Joburg.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vanstak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

I can't pour enough praise on The Peech. It was as cute as can be. The decor was very warm and inviting. The room was HUGE and clean. The bathroom was as big as some hotel rooms I've seen. The staff was very helpful, especially Sharon and Christina. Several staff members greeted us at the door and walked us to the room. They showed us how everything worked including the TV and the lights. Staff helped us with booking taxi cabs and a tour of the Apartheid Museum and Soweto. The food at the restaurant was good and made to order.

The only thing that was slighty annoying was the lack of choices on the TV. Fortunately we did not spend a lot of time in the room watching TV. But on the first day, after a long fight, we wanted to relax in the room a little bit and found the TV choices to be pretty limited.

I would definitely stay at The Peech again!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

Had a lovely three night stay at the Peech - was in Jo'berg for business. Very comfortable and quiet and in a nice neighborhood. Rooms were large, bathrooms were huge! Very home-like, didn't feel like a hotel, enjoyed relaxing by the plunge pool. Ate in the restaurant a few times and had very good meals and good service. Also used the taxi service that the hotel recommended and had very good experiences. John was a great driver for the duration of my stay and I felt very safe with him. Access to the great gym next door is really handy. My only complaint was that the rooms did not have second deadbolts on the door that you could lock from just the inside, something that as a woman travelling alone, I really prefer having while I am sleeping. Loved the resident cat - he's more like a dog and all things considered I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank amandakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews