We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amakoekoe Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$178
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$199
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$91
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$81
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$318
$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$196
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
13
14
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
14
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest randstay there againone nightbalcony100mbguesthousemicrowavevenuesecurity
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 33 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very good accommodation in the center of a large city. It is really neat, clean and fantastic staff. Good value for money all round.
near to all the business i had to to and easily accessible. good security control.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here en route to Madikwe game reserve and although quite close to a major road the noise was not an issue overnight. The room had a small kitchenette which was useful and overall the accommodation was very good. Staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Food was good with an excellent choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was there this weekend for a day but the guy at the reception area his not friendly at all hes too whitey i guess,so Mr Koekemoer u not good for a guest house u need to put smile on ur face we dont wanna know how long ur day were,we want to feel welcomed at all the time so please do something with this guy,he needs to change his attitude,and polish his shoes everyday when coming to work,the noise its terrible when guests come to their rooms at night its noisy they talk loud,with high heels and loud music so wasnt happy at all.and whats with all the dogs OMG i couldnt even go to eat because of the treatment so just close this guest house its expensive for nothing,i will NEVER go there again NEVER

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.
We certainly do not mind criticism as this can only help us to improve our service - which we feel is already of a very high standard - but we do mind when the criticism is of a personal or racialistic nature. The fact that the on duty person's shoes were dirty and that he was white has absolutely nothing to do with what Amakoekoe has to offer. Due to the nature of our industry, our staff do work long hours and dusty shoes are sure to follow!
Regarding guests coming into the guest house in high heels - we can hardly prescribe to our guests what type of shoes to wear so we feel this criticism is uncalled for. We do not believe that there was loud music as none of the rooms have radios or music systems. With reference to the dogs - these are two small dogs and we would certainly have removed them had you requested this. We do not understand the statement "because of the treatment" - please be more specific. Please feel free to drop us an email with specific complaints and we will happily follow up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

i spent two days at the guest house, the pros are the location with regards to close proximity to shopping areas and the breakfast was yummy. The cons are definately the dogs in the dining room while we were eating, we asked to have the dogs removed and they could not do so...i love dogs but not in the dining room. service can also be improved. a 3 star for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlamalani_Phephenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review Amakoekoe Guest Lodge.
We are sorry to hear that there were certain things that was not to your satisfaction. It is a fact that the majority of Guests enjoy having the two doggies around - it makes them feel at home!
However, it is not possible to always please 100% of our Guests 100% of the time!
We know that our service is of the highest standard and would like for you to kindly drop us an email so that we can establish what it was that you did not enjoy about our service - this way, we can try and avoid whatever it was, in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here in a Type B room with another person. Nice place, good variety in breakfast, cordial staff. Only a small concern - the kitchen area is bit small if you plan to stay for long duration. Best rooms are those which have balcony facing the lawns... The morning sunrise is just awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for your positive review!
Unfortunately we were unable to respond sooner due to a technical problem.
In answer to your concern about the kitchen being a bit small, it is to be noted that we are not a self catering establishment and the kitchenette is there purely as a convenience to our Guests. It is not meant for creating big meals, but we are pleased that you enjoyed the rest of what we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews