We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joburg Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
“Joburg Gem”
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Great service and friendly atmosphere. Accomodations are clean and well appointed. Liz was very helpful to us in recommending restaurants & attractions, and had courteous drivers available at all times to transport us around the city. Definitely would stay there again. Neighborhood was a little out of the way, but easy enough to get around by car.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
104
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Our stay at Liz @ Lancaster was flawless. Zac picked us up from the airport and waited patiently as we loaded up our mobile with minutes and visited the cash point. Liz greeted us with tea and offered to help plan our day. Liz is the perfect concierge--she got us in for dinner at a great restaurant every night and day that we stayed with her. She and Zac organized visits to Sterkfontein and the Apartheid Museum. The most decadent feature of the stay was Liz arriving at our breakfast table every morning with the greeting 'what would you like to do today?'

The house itself is gorgeous. So much privacy and security. The neighborhood feels safe-- and the supermarket down the street has a wonderful variety of offerings.

The Inn has Wi-Fi which is quite good. The cable gets a great amount of channels. And the mini bar is stocked with Savannah Dry among other treats.

We stayed at a few other hotels in the area during our trip and desperately missed Liz @ Lancaster.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveltime
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Just a weekend, it was not long enough, we would certainly return to this guest house. The rooms, service, staff, location and owner could not have been better. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltimeTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vina del mar
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2010

The Best Accommodation in Johannesbur South Africa

I have stayed at many Bed & Breakfasts over the past 9 years in Johannesburg. I have never encountered accommodation that even vaguelly competes with Liz at Lancaster for cleanliness, wonderful ambiance, friendly & outstanding service, value for money and conveniently situated.
I have no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending Liz at Lancaster to anyone requesting outstanding accommodation in Johannesburg..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We were in the Coral Room and it was amazing - very, very well ktited out and spacious. It truly felt like 'home away from home'. There were cooking facilities in this room and there was just so much information available to us in the folder in the room - including maps and telephone numbers for local takeaways (which we made use of as we arrived late!). We very much appreciated the attention to detail - from international plug converters to "Liz at Lancaster" labels on bathroom toiletries to local radio station tunings (including who each station caters to!). Given the time of the year, we were not able to make use of the pool but did, however, get to admire some of the beautiful flowers in bloom on the property.

Breakfast was also very good and we had a wide choice of cereals from which to choose, including a fresh fruit salad and juice to start us off each morning. There was also offer of a hot cooked breakfast if we wanted.

The other staff on site were all very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Traveling alone with my 20 year old daughter first time to Africa’s Jo'burg for the first time was expected to be a bid challenging. Staying with Liz was like staying with Family. She and her staff fulfilled every need we may have to make our stay in Jo'burg comfortable. Liz's services make us comfortable to travel within the city, and sightseeing Jo'burg. We had our 5 nights stay there filled with activities everyday. Zak conveniently was available to drive us to any destination on our agenda, including restaurant, shopping, and airport transfers. Liz’s rooms and beds were comfortable like home away from home, plus her full breakfast top it all. We Love Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEDAPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2009

As final stop during my holidays in SA, we decided to stay at Liz's in johannesburg.
I think it was one of the best decisions made for our planning.

From first instant we stepped out of our car we were received by a warmth smile from Zac and Liz. Our room (Ochre room) was so cozy and impecable, big bed -so comfortable-, TV, kitchen, minibar, wireless network, pool...
From this location you have many amenities, malls, great restaurants around and sightseeing.

It was very useful to have the big binder from Liz with all type of informations, turistic, business, maps, attractions brochures, markets, etc... all was in there.. but we still had some extra questions which Caroline was very kind to answer.

Breakfast.... was delicious, and even it was not buffet, you get many options and no hunger was left.

I live in Germany and heard that Joburg is a very dangerous city, but in that area I didnt feel like that.

For sure I am coming back to Liz when visiting Joburg, and of course SA, I missed still lots of things to see...

Cheers!
Mario

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
391 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
715 reviews
1.6 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.7 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Property: Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing