We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B in Joburg--highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying with Liz for almost a week in the middle of December 2013. The room was extraordinarily comfortable--lots of room, beautiful bathroom with shower and tub, lovely linens, wonderful bathroom products--soap, shampoo, etc. and many thoughtful extras. The coffee, tea and rusks in the room were great, and so were the condiments--salt, peper, olive oil--that make it so much easier to really self-cater. The location is also excellent--conveniently located within easy reach of Rosebank, Dunkeld, Craighall Park etc. and with a gym at the end of the road. The staff are also absolutely wonderful--friendly, helpful and top notch in their hospitality. I look forward to staying again and would highly recommend staying at Liz at Lancaster.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you Kelly B for your feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We really appreciate your taking the time and trouble to do so. We have guests staying at the moment you commented on the mattresses and what a wonderful night's sleep they had. And it really does seem to be the things that one doesn't see in a photograph - the mattress quality, shower quality, underfloor heating, block out lining on curtains, good reading light, good air flow, acoustics, privacy, etc.- that make for a really comfortable stay (along with the all the convenient extras you mention). We are not opulent and luxurious but have aimed to be practical and supremely comfortable -without too much 'fru-fru'. So we're delighted that it works! We so enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Joburg.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 349 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in December. Room was lovely, with little added touches like torches, mozzie repellent, bottled water. And a very helpful room directory. Breakfast was lovely. And Catherine managed to fix the broken zip on my trolley bag saving me an urgent trip to the shops to buy another. Would recommend this lovely place

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thanks Louloutraveller for sharing feedback on your stay at Liz at Lancaster. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that the little extras made a difference. Catherine is a whizz at fixing things like zips etc. She has much more patience than I do! So am pleased that she saved you a trip to a luggage shop - both in terms of expense and time which would have eaten into your precious 2 days of Joburg sight-seeing. Thank you for coming to stay and we hope that if ever you are this way again, you will come and stay.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Thank you to Liz and her wonderful staff for a most relaxing and fully accommodated stay! Our family stayed for 3 nights and were in need of nothing! All amenities: iron, blow dryer, luxurious shampoos and soaps (all local natural!), home made rusks for delicious snacks, white glove clean, warm, knowledgeable and to top it off the most professional friendly staff a "resort" could ask for! My deepest appreciation for one of the BEST bed and breakfast stays with a "home away from home atmosphere!" Future guests - you are in for a most outstanding stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you Kelly for your really glowing review. I always worry that expectations will be too high when new guests arrive having read reviews like yours! We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay and when I passed on all your comments to Zac, Catherine and Thandie they gave big smiles and agreed that their attention to detail does make a difference and that it is really noticed and valued by guests. So a big thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review with such considered feedback.
All our best to you and the family from the team at Liz at Lancaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Liz has a fantastic team and nothing was too much for them. They took care of anything we requested with great ease. The rooms are very well equipped and they have all the amenities you would need. Wifi was great (family of 4 i pads). Breakfasts were fantastic. Beautiful gardens and extremely central location. Liz runs a wonderful B & B with her team and we will be back. Thank you for a relaxed and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah0407 J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi Deborah,
We are so pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay here. We certainly enjoyed meeting you all. Joburg over the December holiday period is one of South Africa's best kept secrets. The great weather, chilled atmosphere and quiet roads with minimal traffic is treasured by all Jozi-ites who don't head off the sea ! Thank you so much for your feedback of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are down this way again.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Liz at Lancaster provides a lovely, peaceful place to stay with attention to detail regarding comfort .. good mattress, soft towels, ceiling fan etc. The breakfasts are made to order and excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and Liz is available to give advice concerning Johannesburg & beyond.

Room Tip: We went with our 2 adult children and stayed in 2 rooms with our own private shared courtyard. Lovel...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

My apologies for not responding to your review earlier but I have been away for a few days break and could not access the TripAdvisor response button. :( We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Liz at Lancaster over Christmas and New Year. We certainly enjoyed meeting you all. I’m only sorry that we had a more than usual amount of rain for that time of the year but at least visiting family there were always distractions! Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay – we really appreciate it. From all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our second visit and we were welcomed back like old friends. Liz and her very competant staff took care of our every need, with Zac acting once again as our private chaffeur. The attention to detail, the well equipped rooms and colourful gardens all add to the five star experience. Breakfasts are not to be missed, even if you are wanting to self cater. I'm not surprised Liz at Lancaster is in top spot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We were so pleased to welcome you back again Gramench. Just as you enjoy coming back to Liz at Lancaster, we love it that we have so many repeat guests who return to stay with us on their various visits to Joburg. It was good that Zac was able to make it all so much easier for you by driving you around . He certainly knows Joburg and the quickest way to get to places. With continued good rains, everything in the gardens is continuing to bloom and grow. In fact its keeping everything trimmed and cut back that is the challenge. Thank you again for coming back to stay and we hope to see you both when you are back in Joburg.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Liz at Lancaster will make your Johannesburg stay fabulous and Johannesburg is worth the time. The accommodation is beautiful, with stunning décor and all the personal touches to make it feel both luxurious and homely. Every last thing is thought of. Liz and the team are wonderful people and each person brings their own unique take on making your stay the best ever. Craighall Park is extremely well located and near to the Gautrain, Rosebank, Sandton, Hyde Park, Parkhurst etc,
Liz has deep knowledge of all things you will need to know but importantly the dynamic and wonderful art and African craft scene. Liz can construct a day for you each and every day to see the uniqueness of JHB. It may not be the scenic drawcard of Cape Town but there is a lot of creativity, soul and history - don't miss it from your trip. Zach knows every inch of the city and Catherine will add all the homely touches with her gentle approach.
I cannot recommend more highly a stay at Liz and then get her to plan an art day or 2, see Soweto, visit the Sunday market in Rosebank and get directions to Kim Saks and Amatuli.
I close my eyes and dream of waking up in the Blue Room (or the Ochre Room, or the Garden cottage........)

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally lovely. Let Liz know if you want a bath as many of the rooms have lovely...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you Joy A. for your wonderful review of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. You have gone to such lengths to give a sense of both the location in Craighall Park and the ethos of the guesthouse and the team who work here. As you say Jozi does not have the mountains, sea and vineyards that Cape Town has, but it has an energy, pace and buzz which is really stimulating and exciting. So many guests who come for two or three days only, often say how they wish they could stay longer as they hadn't realized how much there is to do in Joburg. And because Joburg is constantly changing, there are always new things to do and see. I love being able to point guests in the right direction of what's on and happening in the city and providing some kind of insider knowledge. And as you say, Zac can get you anywhere in the city via the quickest route! Thank you for coming back to stay and we hope to see you on your next trip back to South Africa.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
566 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 299 in Johannesburg
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $83 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing