We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with the family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Liz has a fantastic team and nothing was too much for them. They took care of anything we requested with great ease. The rooms are very well equipped and they have all the amenities you would need. Wifi was great (family of 4 i pads). Breakfasts were fantastic. Beautiful gardens and extremely central location. Liz runs a wonderful B & B with her team and we will be back. Thank you for a relaxed and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah0407 J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi Deborah,
We are so pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay here. We certainly enjoyed meeting you all. Joburg over the December holiday period is one of South Africa's best kept secrets. The great weather, chilled atmosphere and quiet roads with minimal traffic is treasured by all Jozi-ites who don't head off the sea ! Thank you so much for your feedback of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are down this way again.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 355 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Liz at Lancaster provides a lovely, peaceful place to stay with attention to detail regarding comfort .. good mattress, soft towels, ceiling fan etc. The breakfasts are made to order and excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and Liz is available to give advice concerning Johannesburg & beyond.

Room Tip: We went with our 2 adult children and stayed in 2 rooms with our own private shared courtyard. Lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

My apologies for not responding to your review earlier but I have been away for a few days break and could not access the TripAdvisor response button. :( We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Liz at Lancaster over Christmas and New Year. We certainly enjoyed meeting you all. I’m only sorry that we had a more than usual amount of rain for that time of the year but at least visiting family there were always distractions! Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay – we really appreciate it. From all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our second visit and we were welcomed back like old friends. Liz and her very competant staff took care of our every need, with Zac acting once again as our private chaffeur. The attention to detail, the well equipped rooms and colourful gardens all add to the five star experience. Breakfasts are not to be missed, even if you are wanting to self cater. I'm not surprised Liz at Lancaster is in top spot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We were so pleased to welcome you back again Gramench. Just as you enjoy coming back to Liz at Lancaster, we love it that we have so many repeat guests who return to stay with us on their various visits to Joburg. It was good that Zac was able to make it all so much easier for you by driving you around . He certainly knows Joburg and the quickest way to get to places. With continued good rains, everything in the gardens is continuing to bloom and grow. In fact its keeping everything trimmed and cut back that is the challenge. Thank you again for coming back to stay and we hope to see you both when you are back in Joburg.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Liz at Lancaster will make your Johannesburg stay fabulous and Johannesburg is worth the time. The accommodation is beautiful, with stunning décor and all the personal touches to make it feel both luxurious and homely. Every last thing is thought of. Liz and the team are wonderful people and each person brings their own unique take on making your stay the best ever. Craighall Park is extremely well located and near to the Gautrain, Rosebank, Sandton, Hyde Park, Parkhurst etc,
Liz has deep knowledge of all things you will need to know but importantly the dynamic and wonderful art and African craft scene. Liz can construct a day for you each and every day to see the uniqueness of JHB. It may not be the scenic drawcard of Cape Town but there is a lot of creativity, soul and history - don't miss it from your trip. Zach knows every inch of the city and Catherine will add all the homely touches with her gentle approach.
I cannot recommend more highly a stay at Liz and then get her to plan an art day or 2, see Soweto, visit the Sunday market in Rosebank and get directions to Kim Saks and Amatuli.
I close my eyes and dream of waking up in the Blue Room (or the Ochre Room, or the Garden cottage........)

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally lovely. Let Liz know if you want a bath as many of the rooms have lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you Joy A. for your wonderful review of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. You have gone to such lengths to give a sense of both the location in Craighall Park and the ethos of the guesthouse and the team who work here. As you say Jozi does not have the mountains, sea and vineyards that Cape Town has, but it has an energy, pace and buzz which is really stimulating and exciting. So many guests who come for two or three days only, often say how they wish they could stay longer as they hadn't realized how much there is to do in Joburg. And because Joburg is constantly changing, there are always new things to do and see. I love being able to point guests in the right direction of what's on and happening in the city and providing some kind of insider knowledge. And as you say, Zac can get you anywhere in the city via the quickest route! Thank you for coming back to stay and we hope to see you on your next trip back to South Africa.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Liz at Lancaster prior to joining a safari group. It is the perfect place to use as a base to explore Johannesburg. Liz and the staff are delightful and assisted us with choosing the things to see on our limited time budget. We were met at OR Tambo airport by the staff driver and transported to the Guesthouse after a long flight from the USA. We walked into a beautiful room ideally suited for a traveling couple. It was clean, spacious and very inviting. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the grounds are beautiful with a pool surrounded by blooming flowers. After a day spent seeing the sights, Liz at Lancaster is a perfect spot to return, relax and prepare for the next day's activities. I was so happy we chose not to stay in a hotel. The personal service offered by Liz and her staff made the stay very enjoyable. Our daughter had contacted Liz to arrange a gift basket for us and Liz personally selected the wine and South African food delicacies which were fantastic. Safety was never an issue and the neighborhood is pretty. Their location is convenient to the airport and the major tourist attractions. Liz arranged a Soweto tour for us with a local guide who picked us up from the Guesthouse. Liz at Lancaster is a perfect introduction to Johannesburg and I hope to return soon to enjoy their hospitality. Liz is responsive to emails so don't hesitate discuss your trip with her prior to your arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear DKR1234,
You have gone to such lengths to describe all aspects of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. Thank you so much for such considered and positive responses. It is helpful both for us as 'hosts' to know what we are doing right and for fellow travellers to get a sense of the ethos and service levels here at Liz at Lancaster - and of course to reassure first-time travellers to Johannesburg about safety issues. We are delighted that you chose to stay here rather than a larger more anonymous hotel establishment and that all went well and that you enjoyed your stay in Joburg. Delighted too that you enjoyed your gift pack of South African goodies from your daughter.
All the best to you both from us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Liz for few days while in Joburg. It is a beautiful guesthouse with clean and adorable rooms. Each room has everything you would need from outlet plug converters, mosquito plug-ins, various beverages including wines, teas, cooking utensils, cups and plates etc. The rooms and showers were clean and bright. We stayed in blue room which was very quite. Breakfast area is beautiful with wonderful options, so as the pool and garden area. When the weather was nice, I just wanted to sit by the pool and read rather than exploring the city! I was very concerned about safety in Joburg, but where Liz's is located is pretty safe, I walked to church by myself on Sunday morning and I saw people jogging and walking outside.
The staffs are very friendly, Zach, the driver at Liz's was very kind and helpful and his charges were very reasonable, much better than the taxis. Catherine was so kind and when we had to leave very early the last day, she packed all four of us breakfast with sandwich, muffin, apple, yogurt and muesli along with napkin and spoon! If I come back to Joburg, I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in Blue room. Bright and quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear KYPark,
It is great to get your responses to your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation and the general facilities. It was good that the weather was kind although generally Johannesburg has wonderful weather. Like many first -time visitors to Johannesburg, it was a surprise for you to see people walking and jogging in the street. Generally visitors are pleasantly surprised by the safety and security in the kinds of areas which they frequent.
You commented on the packed breakfast that Catherine made for you. I am the first to give the team members credit for all they do ... but this time it was me that packed your brunches!! Anyway I am pleased you enjoyed them.
And if you are ever this way again we hope to see you here at Liz at Lancaster
All the best from us all
Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found "Liz at Lancaster" on the internet and couldn't have made a better choice for our family reunion and birthday celebration. Accommodations are clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served daily in a lovely dining room overlooking the garden and pool and was freshly prepared and delicious. The property is beautifully maintained and safe and in a very convenient neighborhood for touring Johannesburg. Also walkable to a supermarket and shops and restaurants. Liz provides a binder of useful local information. There is also transport available to and from the airport and to local shops etc for an added fee. Our family occupied Yellow Cottage, Coral Cottage, Garden Cottage and Ochre cottage…all tastefully decorated. Each even has it's own patio with table and chairs and umbrella. We can't wait to go back! I highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Yellow room and Garden cottage are larger, with a separate bedroom. The other accommodations are spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you Jozibel for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster . We felt so privileged to be able to host you all for your Dad's 90th birthday. We loved being on the periphery of all the excitement and sharing in the surprise of the piper playing Harry into breakfast to Scotland the Brave. The general air of celebration was just wonderful. What a milestone. And we are so happy that it all went so well and was such a success. I love your photo of the wine and snacks in the breakfast patio.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next celebration of your Mum's 80th birthday.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
1.6 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $83 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing