We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil surroundings, delicious food & that personal touch...all that and more at De Kuilen.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Kuilen Country House
Ranked #157 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Tranquil surroundings, delicious food & that personal touch...all that and more at De Kuilen.”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

This was our second stay at De Kuilen and we want to go back. It's like we need regular doses of the excellent hospitality, peaceful and tranquil surroundings, delicious meals and feel-at-home comfort. Not to mention that it's great value for money. The location is easily accessible, so you won't be driving around in circles. The rooms are so comfortable with clean and fresh linen; the kitchen is well equipped and the hospitality tray of cookies are mouth watering; the bathrooms are very neat and have most of all you need, including quality toiletries (shampoos, soaps).
Just get there, kick off your shoes, soak in the tub with a glass of bubbly and allow yourself to recuperate in a homely environment.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dion_soobramoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Marie312578, Owner at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
We, at De Kuilen, were so pleased to read your positive feedback about your stays at our beautiful De Kuilen. We thank you for the way you have shared your views on our hospitality - in so thorough a manner. It must make a great difference to prospective travellers to hear about Guesthouses in Johannesburg with a caring attitude to guests that permeates all aspects of their stay. We thank you for taking the time to reflect this so well. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards from Anne-Marie, Charles, Viv, Rosalie, Florence, Fanie and of course Henry, and Bella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This has truly been my favourite place to stay at in Jhb. Amazing environment - real old world charm. Fantastic breakfast and the hosts organised an exquisite lunch in the garden. I left here feeling truly refreshed and looked after. I would recommend it both for business executives who want a place of serenity after a busy day and for couples just needing a place to breathe. Exceeded all my expectations. What a find!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERumboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Marie312578, Owner at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
We thank you for your discerning review - It is a pleasure to earn such praise from a most appreciated client!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2006

The De Kuilen is a real find! It is conveniently situated not far from Sandton City and within easy reach of all the places you would want or need to visit in Johannesburg. However, it has so much more to offer than most of the normal accommodation options. The De Kuilen is a real country style hotel set in the midst of beautiful gardens.

The service is excellent and the owners, Anne-Marie and Charles Molteno, go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

A major highlight of our stay was the food. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts and the superb gourmet cooking.

We recommend this hotel unreservedly for business, pleasure, or both at the same time.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RossRoyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
11.5 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kuilen Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kuilen Country House

Property: De Kuilen Country House
Address: 26 Glenluce Drive, Johannesburg 2004, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing