We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”
Review of Margaret's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margaret's Place
Almere, Netherlands
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wonderful accommodation, Wonderful People,Keep it up.Quinton and Margaret went all out to please us, even to the open fire at the pool at night. The rooms were spectacular,Serviced every day and very clean. Location was pefect, close to every need you may have Thank you again for making us feel very special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Well, well, well, what can we say, guests like you just make running/owning/managing a Guest House so worthwhile! We absolutely loved having you staying with us twice. Thank you for the lovely reviews that you have written for us not only here on TripAdvisor, words like yours make it so much easier for others to make good travel choices, especially during these competitive times we are experiencing here in South Africa. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
30
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Margaret's Place is a great option for those traveling to Johannesburg, and excellent value for money. It is close to the airport in a quiet safe neighborhood and is close to several major shopping centers. The studio apartment had everything we needed for our four days stay, was very clean and comfortable and had excellent security. Margaret and her various helpers were excellent hosts. We would definitely stay here on our next visit. The only change we would make and suggestion we would have for those staying is to avoid the front room as it is overlooked by the car park which means that you have to keep the blinds closed for privacy and that when people come and go you can be disturbed if it is late at night or early morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the front room as it I overlooks the car park and isn't very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such great words for us amidst your busy travelling schedule! We hope your travels are going well, wishing you everything of the best and a safe return back home in a few weeks time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My overnight stay at Margaret's Place was most enjoyable. I was made to feel welcome, the accommodation was secure, clean and had great facilities. If I go again I would like to spend time outside the pool and garden looked very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for spending the night at Margaret's Place, with the lovely weather we are having at the moment you would love to be at the pool side enjoying the birds and the garden! We look forward to having you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The place is well located in a very calm area and close to many amenities such as shopping's, restaurants and other services. The service in the unit was good especially because is self-catering for people who need to stay for a long period. I also found very useful the movie library available for the guests. I think that internet should be available in the rooms. I Also think that the ventilation in the room should be improved with an AC because the room has no windows. In general me and my husband enjoyed the place with a beautiful garden and Margaret was always available and very welcoming. We definitely recommend this place. Edite and Joao

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We enjoyed having you staying with us for a couple weeks and look forward to having you staying with us again when you next come to Johannesburg! The Wi-Fi is now working very well in the garden units as well as in the lapa and the three rooms hugging the Main House. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we rely on the words of our guests to keep improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Random find, which we stayed at for ironic effect: Margaret's Place on Nottingham Road for my mum Margaret visitin from Nottingham. We were rewarded with a pleasant stay, which surpassed most hotel experiences in terms of comfort, and flexibility. I've found most of the higher-rated Johannesburg establishments to emphasise 'boutique style' at the cost of everything else. Margaret is an affable host who gives a personal touch to her 'place', but lets you get on with your business. The rooms are comfortable and the kitchen is fully equipped to cope with most 'on the road' meals - convection oven, microwave, stove and utensils. Have booked our next stay here for next week. Great location in terms of the city and the airport - drop on to Gillooly's, and you're almost there.

Room Tip: Khanyi had some road-noise (not cars, but people walking past) during the night, Imbali was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
It was lovely having you staying with us twice recently! Thank you for bringing the street noise to our attention, unfortunately it just had to be that specific night that the street was a little more lively than usual, we apologise for the inconvenience. We love guests that interact with us and give us both negative and positive feedback, without you it would be impossible to pursue making Margaret's Place the lovely place it has grown to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Fantastic place to stay in Joburg! Rooms so well appointed, everything very clean, beautiful gardens and pool. Margaret couldn't be more helpful and accommodating.
Location felt safe and local amenities were very good. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Awesome compliments like yours always make us feel so special! Thank you for taking the time to write such amazing words, we always look forward to our guests visiting us again. Wishing you an absolutely fabulous 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

the room are clean and convenience with all the kitchen ware that you need. Margaret is a very nice person to talk to and she will assist with you need too.
this place is always my 1st option to chose when i am go to JHB

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jakowu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! We look forward to having you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
5.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
6.2 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret's Place

Property: Margaret's Place
Address: 47 Nottingham Road | Kensington, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaret's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally positioned for easy convenience to the city centre, you can easily access the major highways, shopping centres and malls, and access the business hub of Johannesburg. Relax after a day's business in a safe and tranquil space. Restaurants and entertainment are within easy reach. Secure parking, get-up-and-go accommodation, specifically tailored for the business traveller on the move. Choose from any of the 5 units to meet your needs. King, Queen, double and single/twin beds available. Margaret's Place offers the "unit" which allows for more than one person to stay for this rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Margaret's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing