We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Margaret's Place is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Jozi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaret's Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Margaret's Place
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Margaret's Place is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Jozi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Margaret feels like a friend from the minute you meet her. She is very hospitable and treats you like a personal guest. The rooms are very well kept and extremely comfortable. Tea, coffee, milk, towels, toiletries were all in full supply, and it felt like home for all the ten days we stayed there. Thank you Margaret!

Room Tip: We stayed in Khanyi which was very comfortable for three and the walk in dressing room was enviable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words! You are most welcome, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
26
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

For some reason I alwyas forget to write about Margarte`s Place. I stay there everytime I travel to Africa, sometimes at the beginning of the trip, others at the end. Its always so nice to come back there, Margaret always makes you feel welcome. Every time I know I can count on a friendly smiling face waiting for me at the airport.
The rooms (little flats really) have everything you might possibly need to be comfortable, excellent showers, great beds, everything spotless clean. And if you happen to need anything elese, Margaret is always ready to help.
Beautiful pool in case you feel like taking a swim.
The location is very quiet and close to Eastgate shopping mall. Also many restaurants nearby, petrol station, antiques shop, liquor store, etc.
Its is a perfect small and cozy stop over in a very big city.
Until next time Margaret!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sil183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
It's lovely to have a review from you, it's also lovely to see you when you pop in for a night or two en-route. Thank you for your wonderful review and the photo's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Margaret's Place offers a great setup for the traveller - being able to feel at home. Especially as she offers self-catering units, instead of just a bedroom.
I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Role V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

this is one of the best cozy places anyone can be in S.A. considering the very fair pricing and also the proximity from town, you can spend more days there. very nice hospitality and very neat as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are grateful for the great review that you have written for us, thank you for the lovely words and for high-lighting the great value that you received. We look forward to seeing you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

my family and i enjoyed our stay it felt like i was in my own house.the place is very neat.the place is easily accessible.i would surely come back to this place.the host is very friendly and a people's person.
i will surely recommend the place to anyone i know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we would love to accommodate you again or anyone you recommend us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWELLENDAM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the 4th time we have stayed at Margaret's Place and we would highly recommend it for Excellent value,hospitality,parking,security,cleanliness,frienliness and all the attributes possible for a stay-over place. CONGRATULATIONS to Margaret and the whole team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful remarks, with compliments like yours it helps us aspire to always improving what we offer! Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
8.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret's Place

Property: Margaret's Place
Address: 47 Nottingham Road | Kensington, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaret's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally positioned for easy convenience to the city centre, you can easily access the major highways, shopping centres and malls, and access the business hub of Johannesburg. Relax after a day's business in a safe and tranquil space. Restaurants and entertainment are within easy reach. Secure parking, get-up-and-go accommodation, specifically tailored for the business traveller on the move. Choose from any of the 5 units to meet your needs. King, Queen, double and single/twin beds available. Margaret's Place offers the "unit" which allows for more than one person to stay for this rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Margaret's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing