We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one thing going for it”
Review of Backpackers Ritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Ritz
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only one thing going for it”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

And that is the location! Nice leafy suburb and walking distance to the best Bakery ever Fournos Bakery! Also walking distance to Roseland and African Market ( 40 minutes). If you are staying at the Ritz, it means you should not bother with a walk to Hyde Park Mall which is definitely an Elite Shopping Centre with extravagant price tags!

Had to be here for our Acacia Tours. Booked three nights before and two nights after...What a mistake! I will be taking this up with my travel agent.

Rooms are spartan with rickety and old furniture pieces. Our bed creaked everytime one of us moved ( just like the floor boards).

The pillows and toilet paper could win Guiness Book Records for being the thinnest around.
Room #5 has a nice view but room #11 down the back has view to the pool therefore no privacy. The rooms have no ceiling fans and no air conditioning therefore, we suffered with heat and mosquito bites as no mosquito nets either ( oh but we were reassured that there is no malaria in Jo'Burg).

The airport transfer ....well that was the worst service ever! With one hour wait after the scheduled time of 8am, the driver finally found us sitting down in the arrival foyer and without any apologies justified his lateness with : This is Africa! It was a horrible start to our one month Safari.

Do not stay there. It is just not worth it.

Room Tip: If you really, really have to book in there because you have a 5am start with your tour, then book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozmanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    14
    12
    16
See reviews for
3
17
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We researched this place prior to leaving Australia and wisely chose to stay elsewhere for two nights. We had a pre departure briefing for our Acacia trip and had to be here.
We had rooms down the back and although they were relatively clean they were extremely cold, small and only had two showers and one toilet for about five rooms.
Others on our trip had the misfortune to be in the dorms and on feeling cold at night searched for the windows and found it broken and missing.
Giving it fair dues; we were probably too old for this sort of place and mayber our kids would have liked it - not for us!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Vilaculos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My name is Backpacker Mike.
Most know me for my online booking website that has more than 1 million video reviews of hostels and tours worldwide.
I have recently stayed at The Johannesburg Ritz backpackers which I am compelled to take the time to sit down and add my opinion so others can benefit from good advice.
If you are looking for a neat, clean, safe place to stay when arriving or leaving Johannesburg you should definitely stay here.
I like it because it is safe and clean.
the staff are friendly and the owners are super cool funny guys ( brothers ) who laugh and enjoy life.

I can say that my stay here has proven to be better than I had ever expected.

Take my advice. I have 26 000 backpackers on my web site and I have traveled all over the world.
I know a good hostel when I see it.

You will be safe and taken care of with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelVilaculos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Three of us stayed at this backpackers while in Jo'Burg and overall it was ok. We had a lot of contact with various staff over the few days we stayed and their attitudes ranged from polite and attentive to defensive and/or apologetic. We stayed in a triple room that was close to the front door and while the walls weren't exactly soundproof, it was comfortable enough that we all had a good night's sleep. The bathrooms/showers were clean enough, although perhaps not plentiful enough to service a full house!

The reason for the poor rating relates to the interactions between the manager (or perhaps staff supervisor?) and the staff - we became aware of him continually berating the staff and, whether it was justified or not, it was completely unprofessional of him to reprimand them in public (usually at the reception desk or communal tv area). It made us all uncomfortable, as were the other backpackers staying there, and to be honest, for that simple reason, I would not recommend staying at this accommodation to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WolfgangCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The ritz is an alarming prospect when you first arrive, with intense security precautions at the entrance. The place is clean, safe and the facilities were reasonable. We had a double room which was fine for the price; it's basic, but after 2 weeks of camping anything clean with a shower rated highly for us. Hot dinners are available and Internet access. Nevertheless, the reception staff were terrible - the manager was hostile and intimidating which really put me off the place - our mates went somewhere else because of it!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wecantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We booked 3 nights but we stayed one. (canceld the other 2) It was freezing in the room, we have to ask a extra heater. The one in the room didn't work proper. The people at the counter were very unfriendly and no helpfull at all. Our kitchen on our camping tour was 10 times better then here.
The price was much to high during te Worldchampion ship. The showers where dirt.
The advice is: DON'T GO here. There are much more and better places to go.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CIANETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

No hot water and very dirty. Great location, but that's about all it has going for it.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmythev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ten Bompas
Ten Bompas
#16 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 103 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.5 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 103 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.8 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#10 of 103 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Ritz

Property: Backpackers Ritz
Address: 1A North Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Ritz Hotel Johannesburg
Ritz Johannesburg
Johannesburg Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing