We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
129
37
8
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
37
8
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 184 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

I flew in from Korea for a very quick visit to see my family. What a beautiful way to spend the weekend. The accommodation was perfect and the staff are so professional and accommodating. Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SamaraN129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe_Costa_10_2ND, Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Thank you so much for choosing and staying with us. We look forward to giving you the best at all times. Thanks once again.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Upon check-in the Saturday afternoon we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was big, clean and all the furniture were very comfortable. It had everything we needed. There were also complementary water, biscuits, tea and coffee, and a fruit basket. We went to a nearby restaurant for dinner, and on our return to the hotel that evening found our bed turned down. We found that to be a nice touch. Breakfast at the hotel is fit for a king. The weekend that we were there the weather was still cold, so not good swimming weather. But as I passed the descent sized outdoor pool, I felt the water to see just how cold it would be, and to my surprise it wasn't that cold at all. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MientjieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe_Costa_10_2ND, Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us. We looking forward to seeing you soon as we continue to deliver our great services all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Our family of 5 stayed at 10 2nd Avenue for 2 nights in a family suite - which is essentially 2 rooms that interconnect. We were greeted by incredibly friendly staff upon arrival and their attentiveness throughout our stay was amazing. Our room was well stocked with coffee, tea and biscuits. The beds were comfortable and the showers had strong, hot water. On our first morning, we had to leave very early for a tour (and I didn't want to ask the staff to begin their days earlier than normal), so the chef arranged to have breakfast put into our room the night before. What a beautiful spread they sent to our room! Breakfast in the restaurant the second morning was spectacular as well.
Only 2 items to mention for future stays. First, it was very cold in Johannesburg during our visit, and houses in the area are not well insulated. Thus it was hard to keep the rooms warm at night, and we piled on the extra blankets, but the bathroom was freezing. Second, our flight landed mid-morning and knowing we would arrive at the hotel around 11:00, I requested early check-in. We had to pay a fee for the early arrival. In hindsight, it seems a little ridiculous that we had to pay an early check-in fee given that we were literally the only people staying in the guest house that weekend so the room was already available.
Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return on our next trip to Johannesburg.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe_Costa_10_2ND, Guest Relations Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us.
Your comments and suggestions are well noted and we will do our possible best to improve upon the services and treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

In South Africa, we American tourists learned quickly that “You are welcome” is a greeting. Rather than a response to “Thank you,” “You are welcome” is an initial announcement. And we felt completely welcomed from the moment we arrived at Ten 2nd Avenue. The hotel shuttle drivers were safe drivers, friendly and ready with advice. The entire hotel staff was courteous and considerate. Often they would call us on the hotel phone, right at the moment we realized we needed something and ask us if we needed that exact thing. They prepared a lovely breakfast for us each morning and genuinely cared whether we enjoyed it. The hotel was safe, well secured, clean, cheerfully decorated, and beautifully landscaped. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. We hope to visit again!

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank ladybugbumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings, close to shopping centre and points of interest. Wonderful cuisine and spa. Relaxed environment just outside the hubbub of the city. Staff are polite and always willing to assist. Food preparation a bit slow.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank fatima_moosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews