We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Big Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Big Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This Hotel had terrific big spacious rooms with big bathrooms, tub and shower. Very comfortable beds and space with all the extra touches to make you feel at home. Restaurant was just average though, food nothing special and drinks were way over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all comments related to the services and products of our Hotel, and most particularly the well being and comfort of our valued guests.
We were most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us here at this wonderful hotel.
We have noted your comments with regards to the food, and the beverage prices, and we will most certainly address these observations immediately.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    30
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
35
7
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at 10 2nd Avenue for one night between our flight from London and flight out to Kruger Park. They collected us at the airport with a very friendly driver who took us to the property telling us about Johannesburg on the way. On arrival we were met by the staff and duty manager at the door and invited to have coffee and tea. The rooms are very spacious with both of our rooms having a fire place. All the staff were very friendly and the property gardens are stunning. Nearby there is a shopping centre even though I wouldn't advise walking because the roads are a bit lonely and all houses have very high walls. All in all, a fantastic property.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor.
We were most delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay here at our beautiful hotel, its surroundings and the service of our friendly and exceptional staff. We continually strive to provide a haven of luxury and elegance for our guests, by providing exceptional service at all times.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I made a change from my usual home away from home (City Lodge Morningside) to try something different. The Hotel was quiet and well located for my business needs. The free wifi was a big plus as were the short bread biscuits left in the room each night.

We had a few hiccups with regards to the DSTV, but these were resolved quickly and efficiently as the duty manager relocated me to a neighbouring room.

I will be back.... hopefully so will others so the hotel won't be like a ghost town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Eberlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback via Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at our beautiful hotel.
We are always delighted to hear that our guests expectations have been met, and even exceeded.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, to experience "Gracious Living in Luxury"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A converted hotel in the heart of "old money" Houghton, Johannesburg. This hotel was a great find. I am only sorry that I was not there for more than one night. The hotel is beautiful, as are the grounds. There is a beautiful swimming pool and outdoor relaxation area/bar.

The hotel exudes quality and style, and the staff is accordingly trained. You feel special from the moment you drive up to the guard at the gate to the moment you depart.

The room was extremely comfortable with lots of little extras. The only two flaws I noted were a little problem with the shower door and a bit of mold on the blinds in the shower. In fact, the only design silliness was having blinds in the shower that are material and will definitely get mold when wet. Still, my room had a huge shower, and the mold on the bottom of the blind was not a problem, just unsightly.

I had breakfast there with some guests. It was as elegant and interesting as the hotel, and we all had a delicious meal. There was more variety than we could get to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all comments related to the services and products of our Hotel.
First of all we are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay here at this wonderful hotel.
We are also very grateful to hear your suggestions in relation to the bathroom. This will certainly help us to rectify this immediately.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Knowing Johannesburg very well I am very picky with hotels and B&Bs in this city - Houghton Estate certainly is a top pick. It is extremely well located, be it relative to the airport, to Sandton or Joburg CBD - within a quiet residential area, just minutes away from a prime golf course (Houghton Golf Club). Last time we visited was in early May 2013. The only issue we had were constructions on the neighboring plot to the East. Check if this is still going on - if it does, make sure you book a room that goes to the other side. These rooms are much nicer anyway, as they overlook the garden (instead of the parking lot or the rooms in front). Otherwise it is a great place, staff is friendly and they do serve great food and wines.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side, overlooking the garden, have a nicer view and are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORT2MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all advise related to the services and products of our Hotel.
We noted your comment regarding the building site next to our property. We do everything possible to work with the construction management to reduce the noise levels. Currently a 3 meter wall is being erected to minimise the disturbance. We were assured that by end of June 2012 the major work schedule will be completed, eliminating noise level to acceptable levels.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This small hotel is located in the Houghton Estate area of Johannesburg, close to the golf course and nestled in amongst the wide tree lined avenues and mansions of the rich and famous. Set in its own, beautifully maintained grounds it is an oasis where the sound of the fountains mingles with birdsong in the trees. The rooms are large, well appointed and feel spacious. Little touches such as fresh shortbread to go with your tea/coffee make a difference.

The public areas are an absolute joy, from the sofa's on the veranda to the three different dining areas (in the more formal dining room, on the veranda or poolside on the patio). Indoor, there are more sofa's for lounging on at the end of the day.

The staff are attentive and the restaurant is popular with people who lunch. The breakfast buffet is extensive and varied, with many types of bread, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese, meats and hot dishes. Take your time and enjoy.

The hotel arranged our airport transfers, which worked perfectly, and a taxi to/from a local restaurant. For the airport transfers the hotel provided the drivers name, telephone number and a description so that we could be sure we had the right one. It is about 30 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Checked in ro 8. Ordered a great snack and tea. Waiters always friendly and greeting me by name.
Outstanding breakfast, especially the scrambled eggs and salmon. Your car is always complimentary washed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#16 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Property: 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 12 Luxury Rooms, of which 1 is a Family Room, 2 Executive Suites, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include Continental & Hot to-order Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the juice & non-alcoholic cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambience of the veranda, overlooking lush landscaped gardens or indulging in a pre-dinner non-alcoholic drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE's renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing