We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kilulu Lodge(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunnyside Park Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Berea(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Ascot Hotel(Greater Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
126
38
8
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
38
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect eveningboutique hotelattention to detailwarm receptionthoroughly enjoyed my staystaff went out of their waylovely hotelspecial thanksthree nightsshopping mallhome away from homegardenfireplacetranquilgateestablishmentoasis
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 180 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Perfect service, wonderful food ( served in five star style) and a overall super stylish experience. The room was beautiful and clean and we loved the personal touches like home made chocolates next to your bed and shortbread. It really has a personal feel and not just another chain Hotel. We wanted a romantic time for my husbands birthday and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

No hassle and no fuss at checking in and checking out. My requests were more then adequately met.
The place is ideally situated, peaceful and so damn relaxing.

There is no red tape in this place only charm and elegance.

Room Tip: Make special requests for room and that will be attended to.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fazil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Amazing service, beautiful, very clean rooms, fire place (mmmm!), comfortable bedding, wonderful bathroom including bathtub fit for actual bathing (hard to find in any hotel) and just overall relaxing and gorgeous. My only wish is that I had more time to spend there! I will definitely stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sksmith1881_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a 1930s colonial property that has seen a few uses over the years but is now a small but very pleasant hotel. I stayed here for a couple of nights in September 2012 and could not fault the service; staff were fantastic without exception. My room, not in the main house, was fine - spacious and comfortable. The main house retains its homely charm. Sitting by the open fire during an unusual cold snap and sampling the wine list (which seems very good) was a real treat. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty; the restaurant was quiet but the quality was spot on. So this must be a good choice if staying in J-Burg, particularly if like me you like to avoid chains.

Room Tip: I suspect that the rooms in the main house are even nicer than those in the annex. Pool is small and probably just okay to cool off if hot (hotel will give you guest passes for the Virgin health centre nearby if you want).
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Roskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The most perfect boutique hotel! We felt very spoiled as the service was superb, the gardens magnificent, the food luscious, and the rooms spacious and well-apponted. We will always fondly remember our stay at 10 2nd Avenue. This should be your only hotel choice in J-berg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Genevieve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews