We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great guest house”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I always stay in 10 2nd ave Houghton Estate when I go to Johannesburg, i.e. more than 20 noghts per year. It provides all the services you normally find in a luxury hotel. It is professionally run, there is always a manager, chef,waitors and someone at housekeeping.
They are extremely friendly and prepared to go the extra mile. Eg. Although they have a good al la cart menu, the chef is always prepared to prepare a special dish on request.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    37
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
45
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is in a converted estate home in the upscale Houghton area of Johannesburg. The property is beautifully maintained and the service personalized and attentive. It's a great alternative and refreshing change from the environment of a business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenberg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Little hotel in a quiet area / rooms and heating excellent /service and food as well / a perfect stay and we will do it again : the garden is beautiful and the swimmingpool more like a big bathtube but well equipped as well

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A really memorable place. There were a lot of special little touches that made a huge difference. The service was fantastic without being overbearing, the room was lovely, and there was good wifi to let me do work I needed to do comfortably during my amazing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahilekvioerk9834579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a wonderfully charming hotel! A beautiful old English manor in the beautiful leafy suburb of Houghton relatively small public areas (eg dining room, sitting areas with fireplace), nice terraces and a beautiful garden.
Standard rooms (room 6) with a nice bathroom.
But above all, great and helpful staff and managers.
Delicious breakfast despite winter time still outside on the terrace.
With a special thanks to Grant who managed for us a lot of things: Johannesburg tours including guides, taxis, restaurants, services on the airport.
Recommended!
(small minus: the sound of the generator at night...)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Choose this hotel for our final night in South Africa. The staff was very welcoming and attentive. Room was a large suite and given the time of year the gas fireplace gave a great warmth and glow to the experience. A quiet location and the feel of staying in a grand home. We had a car and the location has easy access to the expressway so we could get around easily. Met all of my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The friendly professional staff is looking after you with discretion.
A unique luxury guest house atmosphere. Wonderful garden. A lovely swimming pool well decorated.
Rooms nicely decorated including bath and a separate shower.
What else!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Property: 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 12 Luxury Rooms, of which 1 is a Family Room, 2 Executive Suites, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include Continental & Hot to-order Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the juice & non-alcoholic cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambience of the veranda, overlooking lush landscaped gardens or indulging in a pre-dinner non-alcoholic drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE's renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing