We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for Johannesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Visited Houghton Estate earlier this month. As others have mentioned, was a private home and is located in a leafy suburban area (high walls around properties) near Mandela's home and not too far from the CBD. You definitely have a feeling that you are in a private home, and I think that adds to the charm. To me, it is a 4-star version of the uber fabulous Saxon Hotel, which is exponentially more expensive. The rooms are done in subtle tones in keeping with the period of the house. The grounds are so pretty, and the view from the porch, where we had dinner one night, is magical. The lawns just carry on and on. Service top notch, and frankly, one of the best meals we had while in South Africa. Their chefs are total gems. I wouldn't say that Houghton Estate is a sleek, modern hotel. Rather, it is a charming little oasis. Set your expectations accordingly and give it a try. I looked at a lot of properties in Johannesburg. This was one of the nicest I encountered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battered Orange S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

Spent a wonderful night at 10 2nd Avenue (Houghton Estate is one of the posh suburbs of Johanneburg). This used to be a private home, and has been re-designed into a 5-star guesthouse. There are lovely terraces, a swimming pool, and beautiful gardens. The owner has incorporated personal decor items, such as oriental carpets, art etc. There were fresh flowers from the garden everywhere - some with delicious and heady scents. We had room service for dinner, and breakfast downstairs the following morning on a little terrace overlooking all the greenery - very special. Thank you to Shaun and his team for a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beainafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Went there for dinner. Beautiful gardens. Menu was limited, but well-executed. Good wine at reasonable price. Service was very friendly. Minor hiccup meant that we had to wait at the gate for 5 minutes while the guard verified our reservation (although Ross had taken my credit card number and called me earlier in the day to confirm the reservation).

Overall, was a good meal in a great setting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

the envornment is refreshing, staff very frienly and the allocation is pleasurable

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vusi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

A lovely lunch had at 10 2nd Avenue. A lovely setting, sophisticated. enjoyed thoroughly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Executive-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

enjoyed every moment of our stay,beautiful gardens, excellent food , friendly staff and excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxx34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stay here every year for one or two nights whilst attending an annual business meeting.This small boutique hotel/conference center is in an extremely quiet and attractive part of Johannesburg. The food,service and rooms are excellent.The garden setting, too, is wonderful. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to be near the northern/central suburbs of Johannesburg for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
199 reviews
2.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $201 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 12 Luxury Rooms, of which 1 is a Family Room, 2 Executive Suites, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include Continental & Hot to-order Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the juice & non-alcoholic cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambience of the veranda, overlooking lush landscaped gardens or indulging in a pre-dinner non-alcoholic drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE's renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing