We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Plans of using the facilities at 10 2nd Avenue never materialized in the past...until I brought my team there for our strat session. We loved it and it's a pity it was a business trip because it was such a beautiful day to go for a dip in the pool :)! Thanks to the team for making it worthwhile and I did get a few thumbs up for finding the gem...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FanaticJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights before flying back to the UK. Lovely location, extremely comfortable accommodation, beautiful gardens, delicious food and friendly staff could not do enough for us. Very well placed for both the airport, Sandton and Rosebank market. I was particularly impressed by the way the hotel not only stored our luggage before our night flight but also served tea and made a room available for us to shower before we set off. We return often to South Africa and will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GAVELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for 1 night and thought the service was brilliant, staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Thorougly enjoyed staying at Houghton Estate and would most definitely stay there again! Would recommend it to friends travelling to JB.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RojaRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A most pleasant and thoroughly luxurious venue. The staff were very attentive without being instrusive, and I can highly recommend this beautiful house to everyone. We were very fortunate to stay in a fantastic room in the main house, and I am sure that all the other rooms will be as equally superb. I could not find fault with a single thing, and will most definitely stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebraMoorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I was there for business travel, arrived late, they found a beautiful room, lovely snacks at the poolside bar, dinner on the veranda with roses in bloom. Staff - night and day were warm and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This hotel is recommended for everyone! In the room (which I am actually in NOW!) we have a/c, very nice flatscreen with about 300 channels, free wi-fi, nice bathroom with separate shower and bath, security box. Also included is free drinks from the mini bar such as Coke, Coke Zero and Ice Tea. Every day the cleaning lady comes with biscuits and in the afternoon a lady comes with some snacks.

The swimming pool was cleaned three days this week, the breakfast is so nice! There is some buffet and then you can order omelette, full English and more.

The staff is probably the top! They do everything for you and the bar staff were awake until 3 am last night and were here this morning, so very hard-working staff!

The hotel staff also recommend everything for you if you are new to Johannesburg, just ask them to sort it out.

Thank you very much for everything!

Room Tip: The room no. 4, 5 have two doors one for the front and one at the back, so it is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nökkvi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The location and service was excellent. Great attitude!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tshepo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $163 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 12 Luxury Rooms, of which 1 is a Family Room, 2 Executive Suites, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include Continental & Hot to-order Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the juice & non-alcoholic cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambience of the veranda, overlooking lush landscaped gardens or indulging in a pre-dinner non-alcoholic drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE's renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing