We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful setting with warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 289 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting with warm hospitality”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at Rutland House for two nights to recover from our 15 hour trip to SA. Delia couldn't have been more hospitable. We arrived in the early evening, clearly too jet lagged to make it to a nearby restaurant (there are several within safe walking range of the facility), and she made up a bread and butter plate for us.

The facility itself is an enclosed compound with plenty of landscaping. Each room is semi-detached from the others. Ours was spacious and amply accommodated the three of us. It included a mini-fridge, microwave, and tea kettle.

Breakfasts are served in a spacious dining area, with Delia frying up the rashers of bacon and making eggs to order.

Delia also set us up with Chic Macit, who runs a small touring company, to provide transportation to and from the airport, and with a day's sightseeing. We would certainly work with him again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkg12200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
54
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My first visit and would highly recommend it as a place to stay in Joburg. Delia is an amazing host, who makes you feel very welcome, and nothing is too much trouble. We had an evening meal cooked by Delia which was fantastic accompanied by a great SA wine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mango1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean ridge, fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My sister and I were in and out of Rutland House over the past two weeks as we were in & out of Jo'burg visitng, on safari in Botswana + a sojourn to Cape Town. Ms Ferguson couldn't have been more accomodating: In addition to the always tasty breakfast, she prepared a, light meal for us one evening; arranged guides & transport; lent us local cell phones; took my sister with her shopping & even stored luggage.

Dehlia is a perfect hostess, her B & B lovely & the atmosphere within the gates laid back & safe. Two fine cats complete the home picture.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmwarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Before our departure, we were slightly worried before going to JNB due to not really knowing well the city and due to safety problems. So we decided on Rutland after seeing the positive feedback on TripAdvisor. And we must say that users opinions and the web page say exactly the truth. Rutland is a great place, and Delia, the hostess is also absolutely helpful.

The B&B is located in a wonderful area, and you can even walk to a couple of nearby restaurants. The B&B as such is great: nice rooms and cottages, in a wonderful environment. Our cottage was very good, with a decent size sitting room and a kitchen, which we did not really get to use.

Delia organized for us with a local travel agent (Chic) the pickup from the airport, which was very comfortable and reasonably priced and Chic served us as a guide in our visit to the city. She was also very helpful in any indications we needed.
Breakfast was like being home, really good.

If you go to JNB, go to Rutland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Warmth and friendliness greeted us on our arrival in South Africa. Delia Ferguson and her staff made us feel completely at home. Delia was so hospitable and helpful. Location was good (we would have needed transport wherever we were), friendly and helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, and comfortable surroundings. Being there during the world cup was special as we were able to exchange stories and experiences with the other guests. It felt like we were staying with friends. It was a wonderful introduction to the friendliness of South Africa .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieRafalowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We were able to find a great place to stay in Sandton during the World Cup, Delia and her staff were very attentive to details and ensure we had a fabulous stay. The rooms were clean with tons of closet place. Every morning we were served a full breakfast with a freindly smile from Sarah! I highly recommend this cozy oasis in the heart of South Africa.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amr1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Delia was an awesome host.

She accommodated our group of 5 with several room options, prepared wonderful breakfasts, arranged for drivers, gave us advice on places to eat and shop.

I would happily return.

I strongly recommend The Rutland House to anyone.

-Mark

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamulert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
#35 of 289 in Johannesburg
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hamilton
The Hamilton
#29 of 289 in Johannesburg
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 289 in Johannesburg
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#8 of 289 in Johannesburg
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craighall Garden Guest House
Craighall Garden Guest House
#60 of 289 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 48 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delia Ferguson has been extending a warm welcome to her guests since 1995. Rutland House is centrally situated in a lush half acre garden between Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg. All the suites and cottages are set away from the main house, each with it's own private patio or garden. The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for families or long stays. The one bedroom cottage is perfect for the business traveller on a contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rutland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland House Bed And Breakfast
Rutland House Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing