We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 301 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Near the action and far enough away to be safe, Rutland House is the place to stay. Beautiful grounds, pool and lovely rooms, Owner Delia looked after us superbly, nothing was too much bother !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

Had a fantastic time during the World Cup, Rutland House was our release from the hectic schedule of following the World Cup. Very quiet and comfortable. Waka Waka

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZakChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I`ve stayed at Rutland house many times(its my place of choice when I pass through Jhb).Its on fanastic safe grounds.The most beautiful gardens I have seen since being at Butchart Gardens on Vancouver Island-I seriously could spend a holiday in that garden!!The rooms are beautifully decorated.The owner makes sure that you are taken well care of,and points us in the right direction for all the best restaurants,bars and any other activities that we should be seeing.The area its in is very peaceful and quiet,but close to all the action.I highly recommend this top spot!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I have stayed at Rutland House on two occasions, and look forward to my next visit. The rooms are all in very different and interesting styles, very comfortable and nothing wanting. The gardens are amazing, so lush and calm that it is difficult to believe you are in a metropolis. My Hostess was charming and took time personally to deal with all my questions about a strange city and could not have been more helpful. The evening meals she provided were delicious, and the attention was so personal, I felt as if I had known her for years.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorisimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Rutland House B&B was an amazing find. It's a little hidden gem and we had a great time there. The owner does go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and comfortable there. It was very conviniently located to all the area's we wanted to go to and felt very safe too (which was important to us).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mibi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I am an independant consultant and travel all over Africa, frequently staying in Johannesburg. After trying many of the "best hotels" I was referred to Rutland House and have not looked back since. The excellent service, safe and tranquil area with several great restaurants make it my first choice every time whether its on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaunHoneybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I have stayed at Rutland House several times. It has the relaxation and comfort of home after working days in the city. Always very hospitable welcome and very well presented

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamtheSailorAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 67 in Johannesburg
349 reviews
10.3 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 301 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#54 of 123 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
448 reviews
6.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 48 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $100 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delia Ferguson has been extending a warm welcome to her guests since 1995. Rutland House is centrally situated in a lush half acre garden between Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg. All the suites and cottages are set away from the main house, each with it's own private patio or garden. The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for families or long stays. The one bedroom cottage is perfect for the business traveller on a contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rutland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland House Hotel Johannesburg
Rutland House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing