We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Rutland House B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hi - we spent wonderful 10 days in Rutland House B&B. Enjoyed the pool and the great green all over the place. The rooms are very cosy and the host Delia was always around taking care of our needs. Thanks so much again - we´ll be back ;) Ben & Stefan (Berlin)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Ben and Stephan,
Thank you so much for your great review. It was lovely for me to see you enjoying the swimming pool after a hard days work and enjoying the warmth before heading back to Europe.
I look forward to your visit in April. All the best
Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 180 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I arrived with my 2 grown daughters after a long flight from North America. Delia was fabulous. One of my daughter's suitcase had been ripped, and Delia made several phone calls to advocate for her, which resulted in her being given a brand new (and larger) suitcase for free. Also, when we arrived, which was a few days before xmas, Delia announced that she had extra space and, instead of having all 3 of us in one room, she had decided to give us one room for my daughters and one room for myself, at no extra cost. The breakfast was excellent, and we enjoyed having a dip in her pool as well. Delia is a real gem of a person. The neighborhood is quite safe. We walked one night to the Corner Cafe for a delicious dinner. Book immediately to avoid disappointment, as it fills up most of the year well in advance!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Ruth, Thank you for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you and your daughters to stay and I hope you went on to enjoy the rest of your trip with all suitcases in tact...
All the best to for 2013 and maybe I will see you and / or your daughters in the future.. With very best regards Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Absolutely detestable!

I might edit this later, however, I would advise not staying here. After I left I was charged for breaking a chair and leaving the room in total disarray accompanied by a very rude email full of personal insult.

So, if you like being insulted; being charged from breaking things that are in fine working condition; being told that folded blankets, washed dishes, wiped counters, wiped stoves, trash set aside, and just a general state of daily cleanliness constitutes filthy; and having your trash gone through (yes, this happened too), then this is the perfect place for you. Otherwise, I don't advise it.

The trash thing is really sketchy though. Why would someone go through someone else's trash?..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joechak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Jo, Thank you for your review. We obviously have differing ideas on cleanliness. You forget to mention I did not charge you when the single booking suddenly becoming a double booking with your girlfriend. I let this pass. You do not mention I drove you to my local gym and introduced you to the management and asked for a special rate for you. I went out of my way to make you feel at home and comfortable. But I am pleased you have had a chance to say your words. Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We left Nigeria for a two week business trip with mixed feelings. Rutland House catered for all our needs beyond our wildest imagination.The location is central and the compound neet and well kept, the beautiful garden gives us the feeling of living close to nature. Delia and her team makes this trip the best we had ever had! The lovely breakfast with different faces was a fantastic experience! Our cottage makes us feel like King & Queen. It was like a second honeymoon. Greta,Sarah&Andrew complement Delia making our stay a wonderful experience. We certainly would not want to stay anywhere else at our next visit next year. Thank you Delia for making us feel welcomed and well taken care of.

Room Tip: Each room is unique with privacy while still being a part of a loving large family
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Manager at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Peter and Lois, It was such a pleasure to have you to stay at Rutland House. I felt by the end of your 2 weeks here we were firm friends. You are a lovely couple and I wish you all the success you deserve with your business.
I look forward to your next visit next year. Till then, keep well and enjoy your little girls.
Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Johannesburg has a rather daunting reputation to people who don't know it. Four of us (two widow friends and my wife and me) needed an overnight stay there on the way back to Australia from an African safari. We found Rutland House through TripAdvisor. It is not the Ritz but was a comfortable B&B with a lovely British-style garden in an attractive and well-off suburban area. What was special was the help the proprietor, Delia, gave us. Through her, we arranged airport transfers and a day tour. They all worked perfectly. This city that had made us a little apprehensive ended up a successful stopover to finish our trip, thanks to her. Delia was away when we stayed, but her temporary staff looked after us well and made a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review and I am sorry I did not get to meet you all. I am please all our plans were so successfull and your brief visit to Johannesburg and Rutland House was enjoyable.
With very best regards
Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family will stay at Rutland each time we visit South Africa. Its a very warm home away from home and the breakfasts are incredible. The garden is well maintained. Delia is awesome and her hospitality skills are a cut above the rest. She goes an extra mile to assist...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEKAIMUDONHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for posting our happy photographs in the breakfast room. Pity your lovely daughter took the photos as it would have been nice to have a pretty young face joining us... It was such a pleasure and fun to have your family to stay and I am pleased the shopping went so well. I definately look forward to your next visit and hope you all keep well and happy till then. With very best wishes .
Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our family moved to South Africa and we had the great chance to stay with Delia in Rutland house for a month, before entering our new house.
The garden is wonderful, the cottage very comfortable, Delia and her staff is very welcoming and try to make your life simple and easy.
A great souvenir for our first steps in this country.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank aude_quentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Merci beaucoup Aude,
It was such a pleasure to have you to stay at Rutland House. I think my French improved as I had to speak to your cute 2 year old daughter in French !! I wish you all happiness with your next few years in Johannesburg and i look forward to the verre du vin we must still have.
Many thanks for the great review.
Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#5 of 299 in Johannesburg
276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
0.6 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#3 of 299 in Johannesburg
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hamilton
The Hamilton
#36 of 299 in Johannesburg
61 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leighwood Lodge
Leighwood Lodge
#19 of 299 in Johannesburg
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craighall Garden Guest House
Craighall Garden Guest House
#62 of 299 in Johannesburg
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 48 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delia Ferguson has been extending a warm welcome to her guests since 1995. Rutland House is centrally situated in a lush half acre garden between Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg. All the suites and cottages are set away from the main house, each with it's own private patio or garden. The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for families or long stays. The one bedroom cottage is perfect for the business traveller on a contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rutland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland House Hotel Johannesburg
Rutland House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing