We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't Advise It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Advise It”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Absolutely detestable!

I might edit this later, however, I would advise not staying here. After I left I was charged for breaking a chair and leaving the room in total disarray accompanied by a very rude email full of personal insult.

So, if you like being insulted; being charged from breaking things that are in fine working condition; being told that folded blankets, washed dishes, wiped counters, wiped stoves, trash set aside, and just a general state of daily cleanliness constitutes filthy; and having your trash gone through (yes, this happened too), then this is the perfect place for you. Otherwise, I don't advise it.

The trash thing is really sketchy though. Why would someone go through someone else's trash?..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joechak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Jo, Thank you for your review. We obviously have differing ideas on cleanliness. You forget to mention I did not charge you when the single booking suddenly becoming a double booking with your girlfriend. I let this pass. You do not mention I drove you to my local gym and introduced you to the management and asked for a special rate for you. I went out of my way to make you feel at home and comfortable. But I am pleased you have had a chance to say your words. Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
54
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We left Nigeria for a two week business trip with mixed feelings. Rutland House catered for all our needs beyond our wildest imagination.The location is central and the compound neet and well kept, the beautiful garden gives us the feeling of living close to nature. Delia and her team makes this trip the best we had ever had! The lovely breakfast with different faces was a fantastic experience! Our cottage makes us feel like King & Queen. It was like a second honeymoon. Greta,Sarah&Andrew complement Delia making our stay a wonderful experience. We certainly would not want to stay anywhere else at our next visit next year. Thank you Delia for making us feel welcomed and well taken care of.

Room Tip: Each room is unique with privacy while still being a part of a loving large family
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Manager at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Peter and Lois, It was such a pleasure to have you to stay at Rutland House. I felt by the end of your 2 weeks here we were firm friends. You are a lovely couple and I wish you all the success you deserve with your business.
I look forward to your next visit next year. Till then, keep well and enjoy your little girls.
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Johannesburg has a rather daunting reputation to people who don't know it. Four of us (two widow friends and my wife and me) needed an overnight stay there on the way back to Australia from an African safari. We found Rutland House through TripAdvisor. It is not the Ritz but was a comfortable B&B with a lovely British-style garden in an attractive and well-off suburban area. What was special was the help the proprietor, Delia, gave us. Through her, we arranged airport transfers and a day tour. They all worked perfectly. This city that had made us a little apprehensive ended up a successful stopover to finish our trip, thanks to her. Delia was away when we stayed, but her temporary staff looked after us well and made a good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review and I am sorry I did not get to meet you all. I am please all our plans were so successfull and your brief visit to Johannesburg and Rutland House was enjoyable.
With very best regards
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family will stay at Rutland each time we visit South Africa. Its a very warm home away from home and the breakfasts are incredible. The garden is well maintained. Delia is awesome and her hospitality skills are a cut above the rest. She goes an extra mile to assist...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEKAIMUDONHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for posting our happy photographs in the breakfast room. Pity your lovely daughter took the photos as it would have been nice to have a pretty young face joining us... It was such a pleasure and fun to have your family to stay and I am pleased the shopping went so well. I definately look forward to your next visit and hope you all keep well and happy till then. With very best wishes .
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our family moved to South Africa and we had the great chance to stay with Delia in Rutland house for a month, before entering our new house.
The garden is wonderful, the cottage very comfortable, Delia and her staff is very welcoming and try to make your life simple and easy.
A great souvenir for our first steps in this country.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aude_quentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Merci beaucoup Aude,
It was such a pleasure to have you to stay at Rutland House. I think my French improved as I had to speak to your cute 2 year old daughter in French !! I wish you all happiness with your next few years in Johannesburg and i look forward to the verre du vin we must still have.
Many thanks for the great review.
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in this friendly and clean "Bed & Breakfast" for a few nights while visiting my 87-year old mother-in-law in Johannesburg.

Our room was spacious and we really appreciated all the small personal touches like fresh fruit, rusks, coffee, tea etc. The bed was very comfortable and the surroundings very quiet. The owner Delia is absolutely delightful and a great hostess. She has a special gift of bringing guests together during breakfast and we ended up having great conversations.

Her garden is beautiful - I loved her roses!

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure for me to have you and Keith to stay and I especially enjoyed meeting your mother in law briefly. Thank you for your comment on the roses, sadley they have just had their first cut back of dead heads but they will be back. I look forward to seeing you both again in the future, till then, keep well. With very best regards
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rutland House is a lovely bed and breakfast, with an old school charm. I definitely recommend this place for anyone having to go to Johannesburg as it is close enough to the major business hubs, yet has the feel of a country house. Delia (the owner) is friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage which had a lounge, two rooms, a kitchen, bathroom and beautiful little court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank yo so much Marie for writing my 100th !!! review. it was lovley meeting you all be it for such a short stay. I hope to see you agian in the near future. With very best wishes. Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Craighall Garden Guest House
Craighall Garden Guest House
#63 of 293 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hamilton
The Hamilton
#32 of 293 in Johannesburg
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 293 in Johannesburg
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leighwood Lodge
Leighwood Lodge
#21 of 293 in Johannesburg
88 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#10 of 293 in Johannesburg
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blackheath Manor Guest House
Blackheath Manor Guest House
#9 of 293 in Johannesburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 48 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delia Ferguson has been extending a warm welcome to her guests since 1995. Rutland House is centrally situated in a lush half acre garden between Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg. All the suites and cottages are set away from the main house, each with it's own private patio or garden. The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for families or long stays. The one bedroom cottage is perfect for the business traveller on a contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rutland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland House Hotel Johannesburg
Rutland House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing