We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
475
78
9
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
475
78
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosebank mall royal suite post office gautrain station beautiful hotel huge bathroom boutique hotel breakfast was included small hotel shops and restaurants living room wonderful stay safe area easy access attention to detail south africa airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 571 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Great customer service - we felt as though we were the only guests there. Gorgeous rooms and very good food. Our driver to @ from the airport was very pleasant and accommodating to our special needs. Highly recommend without reservation.

Room tip: We stayed one night in a single room and one night in a suite. Both were spacious and lovely. I doubt they have a bad room.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch.

We thank you for the wonderful review and we are very grateful for the recommendation. We trust that you have traveled well and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Jan van As
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

The hotel is beautifully decorated and well maintained. There is a nice quiet courtyard garden that was located outside of our window. The room and bathroom are large and comfortable. Every staff member we interacted with was fantastic. Breakfast was included with the rate and we enjoyed breakfast both mornings. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and had it deliver room service another night. Great location. Highly recommened.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie143Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch.

We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and we thank you for the lovely review. We trust that you have traveled well and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Jan van As
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

I got an upgrade, so I don't know if all the rooms are as nice as the one I was in, but it was exceptional. The staff were amazing. Location is good and very close to the train from the airport. The included breakfast was also wonderful. I'll absolutely be back.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andybrownback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade and your stay, and we thank you for the lovely review. Your comments and compliments are very kind.

We trust that you have traveled well and we do hope to welcome you back to the Monarch in the near future.

Sincerely
Jan van As
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

Wonderful surprise! We booked this stay at Monarch as the final stop of our three week tour to Malawi, Zambia and South Africa, Johannesburg. Couldn’t have had a better final stop - this hotel is wonderful! Very clean, exceptional staff, and restaurant very good too.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deebee748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch.

We are absolutely delighted to have provided a wonderful end to your African tour. Thank you for the lovely comments!

We trust that you have traveled well and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Jan van As
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

It was really great experience and everything was as per requirement. Location of hotel is great. Rosebank mall and zone mall are adjacent to it. Staff was very friendly and helpful and very courteous.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Faizan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you enjoyed the convenience of location. We appreciate the lovely review, trust that you traveled well, and do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Jan van As
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews