We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Experience”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My first trip to South Africa was greatly enhanced by staying at this hotel. The facilities are truly first class and wonderful. The hotel has a beautiful design, the rooms are well decorated and very comfortable. I cannot say enough about the staff; there attention to detail is clear. They make every effort to ensure their guests are beyond satisfied. I have particular praise for General Manager, Jan van As, whose generosity, knowledge, and attention to detail made our stay all the more enjoyable. Thank you Jan!!!

Room Tip: There were no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review
6 March 2013
Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
6 March 2013
Dear Chris D thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 470 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hotel has only 12 rooms, which are all huge. Some are suites, and contain a lounge, dining area, writing desk, minibar area, huge bedroom with an enormous bathroom plus a second separate toilet at the entrance. Plenty of cupboards. Everything is thought of = hot rail for the towels, dressing gowns, slippers, TV in the lounge and in the bedroom with full DSTV, safe, hairdryer, etc. etc.
The service is outstanding, at last I found staff well trained. And the Manager was present at all times.
The food in the restaurant was superbly prepared and presented, and the chef was very accommodating to our requirements. The breakfast was also varied and beautifully presented.
Silver cutlery, crystal glasses, linen serviettes, just add to the luxury.
Very secure, and although it's conveniently situated near the Firs and The Zone, you cannot hear any street noise.
Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
2 March 2013
Dear Claudroc thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked into the Monarch Hotel on the spur of the moment to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a gem we found. Just next to the buzzing Rosebank Mall we found a haven of tranquility and class! The building is a fresh renovated old railway station with a very quiet courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a drink or lunch. The rooms are very spacious and I must congratulate their interior designer for the tasteful fittings. They really mastered to maintain the old charm of wooden floors and tasteful decoration. A definite must also for the business traveler who has had enough of the big hotels. Also the staff was very friendly and very well trained (something that is not always the case in Joburg).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
18 November 2012
Dear Manfred M thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Looking for a spot that offers you the luxury of years gone by at yesterday's prices? Look no further!

We decided to be tourists in our own city and try this low profile 5* boutique hotel. Were we amazed! Some of the things we loved:
* grand rooms with the highest ceilings we've ever seen
* peaceful tranquility with no noise at all, except for birdsong in the courtyard. Our room overlooked
* having fluffy slippers laid out next to our beds during turndown service
* being offered a complimentary bottle of brut when we just ordered 2 glasses from room service

We'll be back!

If you love this, try the other Joburg gem: Central One restaurant in Sandton. Just 5km away so you could combine the 2 :)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Megan2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
8 February 2013
Dear Megan2402 thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We decided to visit Johannesburg for a two night stay on 2 November 2012. Tired of staying in large hotel accommodation, I searched for a 5 star boutique hotel away from crowds and noise. After seeing the pictures on the website, I called the hotel to check availability. My request was professionally and promptly attended to. I was a bit apprehensive about the hotel especially since it was located on one of the busiest main roads in Johannesburg, across from the Rosebank Gautrain station and next door to the Game store and Zone shopping centre! All my fears were quickly dispelled when I walked into an exquisite reception area furnished in silk, brocade and antiques with the friendliest staff attending to my needs. The hotel is located in a heritage building which used to be the Saxonwold telephone exchange! High ceilings and classic decor creates a wonderful ambiance of an era long passed. The sumptuous royal suite of 90 square meters was beautifully decorated with thoughtful touches to make a travelers stay comfortable. Compliments to all the staff who made our stay a pleasant one! Bed was very comfortable with fine linen and frette gowns to keep you warm after a wonderful rain shower! I had an excellent sleep in a surprisingly very quiet hotel considering its location! The position of the Monarch is excellent with quick access to Melrose Arch, shopping at Rosebank Mall and the Firs. Travel to Sandton is a quick Gautrain ride away. Will definitely visit again and use this as our base in Johannesburg. Special thanks to Lindiwe, Celestine and Thulani. Word of caution - this hotel is in close proximity to wonderful shopping which is incredibly difficult to resist and you may find yourself out of pocket :)

Room Tip: Ground floor royal suite facing the garden - very quiet and accessible to dining room and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
12 November 2012
Dear Maliga thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Service-Excellent
Staff Exceptional
Cuisine outstanding & beautifully presented fit for royalty.what a wonderful experience.
If you are traveling to rosebank try the Mornach Hotel you wont regret it.


Thanks to Jan the General Manager,The housekeeping Team,Lindiwe& Lindiwe for making me feel at home.

Room Tip: Luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TZana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
10 October 2012
Dear TZana thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Coming from Pretoria for a night away, we were very plesantly surprised by what we found. The rooms are great, the food was awesome, and the service was 100%.

Located within Rosebank shopping centre, it is ood for a quick walk around the Sunday roof market.

No complaints whatsoever, very good value for money!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mongocuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
10 October 2012
Dear Mongocee thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
809 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $157 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also treated to delicious lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Room service, as well as packed breakfasts and lunches, are also available for your convenience. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing