We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One night away”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Coming from Pretoria for a night away, we were very plesantly surprised by what we found. The rooms are great, the food was awesome, and the service was 100%.

Located within Rosebank shopping centre, it is ood for a quick walk around the Sunday roof market.

No complaints whatsoever, very good value for money!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mongocuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Jan van As , General Manager Monarch Hotel, Rosebank, Johannesburg responded to this review
10 October 2012
Dear Mongocee thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    50
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
203
34
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

In a city where dining is generally a casual affair, The Monarch Hotel restaurant provided us a with a rare fine dining experience. The food, the service, the ambience was truly sophisticated. And the prices were reasonable.

Unfortunately the legendary hostess, Isadora, was not on duty as it was a Sunday evening. I believe that she can shock more sensitive souls - I will have to go back to experience her unique style.

I can happily recommend the Monarch Hotel restaurant - especially since it is open Sunday nights when most top end restaurants in Jo'burg are not.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CIVUH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor

my response A rare fine dining experience, the current management were not part of the 2010 group.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I do not normally have the time or inclination to write reviews for hotels or restaurants but I thought that my experience here warranted a special mention. Having flown in to Johannesburg especially for the Soccer World Cup final, my friends and I decided to visit the Monarch Hotel for a late lunch on Saturday 10th July 2010. What awaited us can only be described as the rudest front of house staff member I have ever had the displeasure to encounter. With a harsh demeanour and the deportment of an Amersterdam streetwalker, our "hostess" made it plainly clear that we could not and would not be accommodated in any shape or form because our party included two small children. Aghast at the sheer rudeness of this woman, we decided to leave immediately. I have had the fortune to stay at numerous five star hotels and dine in many Michelin starred restaurants from a young age and I can honestly say this was by far THE worst reception I have ever encountered. Needless to say, I will not be recommending this establishment to any of my friends, family or business partners.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GTB250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Monarch Hotel Rosebank - New Owners and Management team - Property was closed from December 2010 to July 2012, one year and 5 months 1 August 2012, the review of Disgraceful - advoid at all cost was a bad review from the previous owners and Management in 2010
The gracious old dame, The Monarch Hotel, opens her doors to her loyal customers once again
The Monarch Hotel is conveniently located in Rosebank in Johannesburg’s northern suburbs and will in August again open its doors to guests after the recent refurbishments. Combining the old world charm of this building, which was constructed in the 1930s and used as a post office until the nineties, with contemporary style, cuisine and amenities the Monarch Hotel offers the complete hospitality experience.
The Monarch closed their doors temporarily to coincide with the scheduled road maintenance necessitated by the building of the Gautrain’s Rosebank station, which is quickly and conveniently accessible from the hotel.
Guests to the Monarch will enjoy the choice of six luxury or five royal suites kitted out with all the technological comforts of today’s age. DSTV, DVD players and the internet will keep guests entertained or allow them to catch up on emails.
Stately and majestic with an element of sophisticated funk, the Monarch Hotel’s aesthetics are unique with its mixture of antique collectables and contemporary art.
It is not just a homely stay that guests will experience at the Monarch, as the staff will ensure that all the needs of their visitors are met. “We pride ourselves on being the best service in town,” says General Manager Jan van As.
Not only is this a luxurious retreat from a fast-paced city, but it also caters to the many business travelers; with a boardroom, secretarial assistant and dedicated security available.
All suites have dining facilities, with the unique and luxurious apartment 300 seating up to 8 guests served from a dedicated chef’s kitchen. This is the room to book, with a celebrity en¬trance and private security.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
561 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 68 in Johannesburg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing