We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have never been in a cave, you will be impressed...”
Review of Wondercave

Wondercave
Ranked #23 of 174 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you have never been in a cave, you will be impressed...”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went there purely for the "been there, done that experience"

I guess if you have been to one cave, there is not much to be impressed about.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    51
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Wondercave”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wonderful experience. Single chamber formations inside cave just superb & breathtaking. Good exercise down steep stairs & back up again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RVN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“It is just a stunning place to visit.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I took a few colleagues there and we all were stunned about this place. We couldn't stop talking for ages. World Wonders are just amazing. Will for sure go again.

Helpful?
Thank Marietjie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK and BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was one of the activities we chose to do on our family holiday. Once having a tour around the dark cave, the boys abseiled down the shaft. They found it fun but said they were not really abseiling as the guide sort of wrenched them down. I felt incredibly unsafe in the rusty shaft, but I do not like those sort of tight spaces.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Visit to a living cave”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The fact that this is a young tourist venue and that it is still alive, unspoiled by a multitude of tourists. There is an extended tour that required several hours to deeper underground chambers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernard163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wondercave also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Wondercave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing