We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to get your bearings in Jo'burg”
Review of Top of Africa

Top of Africa
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.66*
and up
Johannesburg City Tour Combined with Maboneng
Kerry
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great to get your bearings in Jo'burg”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I found the trip to the Roof of Africa worthwhile.
It's a great way to gain perspective of the city and its surrounds.
The cafe is disappointing. A touristy shop would have been a bonus. Nevertheless, it's a good way to spend 30 mins and understand the city,its suburbs and landmarks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LdeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    118
    111
    29
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's a dilapidated hotel that you have to pay to look off the roof of....not a bad view but not worth a trip in itself, the red bus takes you there

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank njword420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Experience - great 360 views from the observation floor”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our trip to Top of Africa was one stop on a general guided tour of Joburg that also included Soweto and the Aparthied Museum. Our guide was a Zulu heritage man who was very knowledgeable and gave us a sense of security as we toured this dangerous city.

I was astonished at how smooth and fast the elevator ride was; by comparison, in Boston our equivalent 50 and 53-story Prudential and Hancock Towers feature rickety, bumpy rides accompanyied by wind-tunnel whistles and vaccum noises all the way up. I was pleased that the entire observatory was glassed-in and spacious. The views were excellent, especially after the earlier grey clouds of the day lifted. Our guide pointed out significant buildings, neighborhoods and explained about the abandonment of most of the Central Business District as a result of the heavy crime rates. There are exhibitions in the observatory as well. In particular, a sculpture about fostering communication and negotiation to maintain understanding and peace among peoples. The lower floors of the building feature restaurants (think food-court-style restaurants -- like KFC) and shops. I felt the 360-views to the city gave me a good sense of the city of Joburg and the urban sprawl that surrounds it and did so in a way that was relatively safe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pagetoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disapointment personified!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a disappointment! Dirty and run down! no shops open any longer, would hesitate to order food there.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“They need to upgrade this joint”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This can be such a tourist trap... er... i mean exciting tourist destination. They just need to put a decent restaurant and work on giving us more history on JHB. Currently, it’s very boring and dirty, but cheap…

Helpful?
1 Thank 8mmSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of Africa also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Top of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing