We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family day out”
Review of Johannesburg Zoo

Johannesburg Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.65*
and up
Johannesburg Zoo Half-Day Guided Tour
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family day out”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Joburg zoo is clean and pleasant to visit. The animals are well cared for. The only thing that stops it from being excellent is the long wait at the restaurant and the bees at the restaurant which are a bit of a hazard with little children around (understood that the zoo can do little about this)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank emminicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    411
    182
    62
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a Zoo fanatic”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went here for a kiddies party. Having experienced the true african outdoors (read National Parks), I really don't see the need for a Zoo in Johannesburg. But, for those not priviledged to have access to our National Parks, it is an ok substitute. Animals never seem to look "happy or content" with a niumber of them pacing up and down. Well laid out in the small area available.

Helpful?
Thank African_LandCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“STINKY ZOO”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I took my friends 2 kiddies to the zoo, paid a pretty steap entry fee. To our dissapointment, half of the cages was empty. A lot of the animals was sick as well. At the gate your staff could have warned us then I wouldn't even have bothered. I was impressed though with the lion cages, although we didn't see any because they were all lying in their hide-aways. Also your monkey enclosure.. well done

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jungle in the City”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love the events/activities schedule. Animals are well kept and it has a variety of animals. Also the zoo is very clean

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg , South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good day out with teh Children”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

They are doing a good job - many new projects on the go - animals are well looked after - mostly clean . Good entertainment for the family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bathawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johannesburg Zoo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Johannesburg Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing