We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Disney World”
Review of Gold Reef City

Gold Reef City
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.69*
and up
Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours
More Info
$14.44*
and up
City Sightseeing Johannesburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #7 of 179 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gold Reef City is a premier entertainment destination in the south of Johannesburg, reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town which is conveniently situated close to the centre of Johannesburg or just 20 minutes from OR Tambo Airport. The resort offers a variety of entertainment for both the young and young at heart which includes a state of the art casino, two 4-star hotels, conferencing and teambuilding facilities, a thrilling theme park,a spectacular theatre featuring live productions and a variety of restaurants and fast foods for every taste. Also located on the premises is the world renowned Apartheid Museum and the Red Bus City Sightseeing Tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fun Fun Fun for the whole family, you need at least two days to spend in there so that you can take your time to experience everything in that park, food, games, rides they have thought of everything and more. the whole family can go and nobody will be forgotten.

Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Gold Reef City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,039 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

For travellers that aren't used to amusement parks, Gold reef city is a great venue. It's got the old Joburg feel of the mines which adds a little history. For those that don't want to go on rides, there are quite a few quaint stores and museum houses on the property.

You can also visit the 4D cinema.

Thank zaamissbowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaclyn a, Manager at Gold Reef City, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive and lovely feedback about our Theme Park offerings. We look forward to seeing you at again soon

Your sincerely

Thembi Makhaye
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The park is very cheap to get in to. it cost 120 rand, which roughly exchanged to $12 for us.

The first ride that we approached was the 'lazy boat'. Lord. I have never felt so ridiculously unsafe and bored at the same time on a ride. It is obviously designed to be a slow, leisurely ride, however, slow and 'not moving at all' are not the same thing. Three of us were in a boat that was designed for 6 adults. The ride had no line, so we thought we were so lucky...evidently there was a reason for the non-line.
When we got into the boat it kicked off fine, after about 10 seconds, around the first bend it stalled and moved at a pace that was equivalent to a snail. We had to use our arms and legs to push off the walls so that we could propel forward at all. The displays on the sides were broken, knocked down and had electrical cords hanging dangerously close to the water.
After 3-4 minutes of pushing ourselves around the river, we ended back at the start where the boat stopped completely before the dismount area. We were trapped on the rocks and the attended yelled at us to 'just get out onto the rocks'. He didn't get off his seat to help us, he just sat there and watched as we awkwardly had to climb out of the boat onto one of the themed displays and climb over the rocks to get back to the platform. I have never, ever, been treated that way at ANY paid for activity.

The day continued to get better. There were hundreds of school kids at the park, not a single teacher in sight. The children were loud, not just in a child-like manner, they were screaming constantly wherever we went. They were incredibly rude, when walking through the entry to an attraction they would push forward and run to the front of the line, there was no supervision and our requests for them to stop pushing in were met with laughter and continued rudeness. It was a horrible experience.

After a roller coaster (where at least 12 children pushed in line) we went to the water rapids. We lined up, the attendant refused to allow us to go in a boat with just the three of us, making us wait to the side while she put 30-40 children on ahead of us. Eventually she put us in a boat with three other children, the ride was terrible and we came out soaking wet with disgusting, grotty, foul-smelling ride water all over us.

The only respite was lunch at wimpy because no children were there, the service was good and we fed the wild chickens that ran around.

The petting zoo is a miserable and sad sight. There was a tortoise stuck on some plastic in one of the open enclosures, my friend informed the person working there and he came over, freed the tortoise and then made a joke of stepping on it. I was horrified.

The people who work here are apathetic, rude, unkind, a cruel to animals.

What a horrible experience. I would HIGHLY recommend avoiding at all costs.

4  Thank jessicaleeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThembiMakhaye, Manager at Gold Reef City, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for writing your review. We take the quality of our guest experience very seriously. On behalf of the Theme Park team, we apologise for your bad experience and that your visit did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

Thembi
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hitting my 30s now, I was a bit worried that this theme park might be a bit too young for me. However despite that, we managed a great day out!

As others have said in the reviews, it is worth checking what rides are open and closed. A lot of their rides have been around for a while, and do close for maintenance. Despite the age of them, they do seem very well maintained.

We were lucky to go on a quiet day so had barely any queue to get on any of the rides. There was enough thrill rides to keep me happy, and there is a huge childrens area for the younger ones to keep them happy. It was just a shame the anaconda was shut. But the other rides such as Tower of Terror, Golden Loop and Jozi Express were going.

We had breakfast here and that was nice. The cost of the attraction was pretty good.

The golden loop was very enjoyable. How it just shoots off out of the station like it does feels great! The Tower of Terror really is terrifying. Despite the same name, it is nothing like the Disney Tower of Terror. It's a rollercoaster, but not like normal rollercoasters, as it takes you up vertically in a lift, then slowly slides out down a vertical plumet giving some imense G Force. (apparently the highest G's in the world) There is even a notice saying that you need a 10 - 15 minute break before riding it again.

As this theme park is built on an actual old gold mine. There is the opportunity to take a mine tour. This is an additional cost on top of your tickets which you can buy in the park. The mine tour is pretty good. You're taken about 230 meters below ground and you walk through what were actual mines. They give you an appreciation for what it was like in those days working down there. However it is a very short tour, and expensive for what it was.

Overall a good day though. Get there early as a lot of the rides were closing down at 4.30pm.

1  Thank onlineamiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThembiMakhaye, Manager at Gold Reef City, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

A nice day out
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear we met your expectation and had a wonderful time. We appreciate your comments about the rides and the mine tour. Since the beginning our goal is for all of our visiting guests to enjoy all what we offer and that is including our restaurants.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time and please do not hesitate to visit us again.

Your sincerely,

Thembi
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visiting the park after so many years was a great experience. Although at the time some of the rides were not available, it was good to revisit my youth playground.. a recommended visit for anyone who loves the thrill!

Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThembiMakhaye, Manager at Gold Reef City, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We're all really pleased you had a great time at our park. Keep checking our website for all the latest news and offers.
Hope to see you at the Easter Festival of fun!

Best regards

Thembi
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Reef City also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Gold Reef City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing