We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great end to my trip”
Review of A Room with a View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Room with a View
Ranked #144 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2007

I stayed here at the end of a six week trip and found it to be the perfect place to unwind before the long haul back to Australia.

I had one of the main rooms on the top floor and found everything to be terrific. Great location, excellent, helpful and friendly staff, terrific breakfast, good security and a great location

I'd stay there again in a flash

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2006

This is an ecclectic, urban castle of a guest house with many charming details: vaulted ceilings, columns, lovely tiled bathrooms, etc., and its breakfast is awesome. I came for a repeat stay because I had enjoyed it one winter a few years ago although the rooms are not heated and do not all have fire places, so it was chilly. This was before its expansion (it used to have only a few rooms and good staff-to-room ratio) and major price increases.

This trip we stayed during the summer, and though there is a salt water pool, there is NO air conditioning, (Joburg can be very hot, even at night) and when we were finally able to track down a cranky staff person, a loud fan was only grudgingly provided when we begged. There was one outlet in the entire room (not even one in bathroom for a hairdryer, etc), so plugging in of electronics was a huge hassle. Since their wireless did not work for any but the very newest Windows software (which no one in my party had) we had no internet access during our stay. Also, phone charges were outrageous and were charged even if you only reached a busy signal, misdialed, or reached a wrong number. Our King room was just two double beds pushed together, and for such a style-conscious and relatively expensive place, this time the pillows, bed linens and towels were of surprisingly low quality. This combined with the constant noise (some kind of banging, street noise, exotic birds) made rest and relaxation nearly impossible. Even when we couldn't sleep and looked to the TV for distraction, there were limited channels with 'snow' on the one we wanted to watch.

Overall, in spite of the delicious breakfast at R.W.A.V., it is a huge rip-off for what you get unless you only care about its design elements. A better and much less expensive option is Clouds End where we stayed in the same Melville neighborhood. It is closer to trendy 7th Street restaurants and is more business friendly (has speakerphone in room, hassle-free wireless included, plenty of outlets, airconditioning and heat, as well as super reasonable international and local phone rates, alarm clock, satellite tv). Also, you have the option of being served a (delicious) breakfast in your room (you have to eat in a common area at Room with a View) and if you stay in room #8 at Clouds End, it has a private patio. All in all, less of an aesthetically ambitious atmosphere than Room With A View, but a much better value and more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank yeahmyyacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, Oregon
17
Reviewed October 2, 2005

Upon arriving at this castle-like accommodation in Johannesburg, we were shown our room and the breakfast room and then left on our own to explore the hotel. We discovered a pool, caged exotic birds, a balcony/smoking room and that our hotel was attached to a private residence. Needless to say, it would have been much more welcoming to have had a proper introduction to the surroundings. In an effort to get more information about the neighborhood we attempted to call the house manager, who apparently leaves the premises promptly at 5pm--we arrived at 5:01, on her cell phone, which she leaves available to all guests. After leaving 2 messages and not getting a return call, we simply gave up. In addition to the poor service the budget rooms, as they call them, are extremely loud. Although the price is right, it is not worth the noisy location, i.e. the neighboring room's T.V., the squawking birds at sunrise and some sort of hammering noise that lasted for several hours into the night. When I asked the manager about the hammering the next day she informed me she had no idea since she doesn't spend the night at the hotel. During our stay there were three other guests who seemed to be in town for business purposes rather than personal travel. Only if I could splurge for a high-end room (and if I could expense it, all the better) and knew my way around the neighborhood and city, would I stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2004

We stayed here at the end of 2002 and just loved the warm and tranquil atmosphere. It felt like we were in Tuscany! Staff was friendly and breakfast was absolutely wonderful with fresh fruit sallad, etc. Good location, close to many restaurants. We felt very safe walking around the area.

7  Thank crmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vista melhor nos quartos mais altos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andreia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avions la chambre 1, avec deux immenses palmiers et une terrasse immense mais à partager avec d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank piermtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S_von_Ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
6.8 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room with a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room with a View

Address: 1 Tolip Street | Corner 4th Avenue, Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $72 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The passion, charm, colours, luminosity and timeless quality of this beautiful guest house consistently draws guests from all over the world into invigorating social exchange - yet also allows for gentle non intrusive privacy. Set high above the heart of Melville with splendid views over a forested Johannesburg and 70km on to the Magaliesberg. Each of the fourteen en-suite rooms has a unique sense of style and design, some with their own conservatory, balcony and fireplace. Beautiful bathrooms with large showers and deep baths. Spectacular breakaway lounges and swimming pool. The gentle hearts, softness of smiles, the warmness and memorable breakfast’s, imbues care to all who have found this home from home. Designed to provide memorable accommodation for well- informed international travellers that seek the best that Johannesburg and South Africa can offer, at affordable prices.A Room With A View is beautifully situated in the heart of Johannesburg’s most blessed parklands and also close to every necessary amenity. More than just B&B or guesthouse accommodation, rather like a boutique hotel.The timeless quality of this magnificent guesthouse and bed and breakfast consistently draws visitors from all over the world into invigorating social exchanges – yet allows for gentle, non- intrusive privacy.A spectacular high visitor’s lounge is open to all, with handy catering facilities, making it conducive to socializing while also providing you with a venue to entertain your own Johannesburg guests. A Roman- style swimming pool and surrounds offer outdoor relaxation throughout Johannesburg’s glorious 8 month summer season. Two conference rooms, each accommodating up to 14 delegates are served with wholesome lunches and beverages to order. With free internet and satellite DSTV, why stay in Sandton or Randburg if you can have luxury accommodation nearby in Melville and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing