We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent French food in Florida.”

Les Delices De France
Ranked #13 of 1,183 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent French food in Florida.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very good French food. Excellent service and attention to detail. Parking available. Easy access to N1 highway - highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    48
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“an off the beaten track gem”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It's not what you would expect, but what a wonderful place to eat. The food is wonderful, the staff attentive and engaging. The prices are really good. A touch of France in Florida. Nothing pretentious, just really good food and wonderful service

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffurson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice change is an area you wouldn't expect!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to Les Delices De France last night and had a good evening. They are not yet licensed so we took along our own wine, but that was great! It's in a house which gives a wonderful ambiance as it is is split into a few rooms which gives it a very intimate atmosphere. For startes we had the Pate en croute which was very good, but exactly what was expected, no wow factor and the Foie Gras which was served on apples, but the apples were burnt and I think the one side of the Foie Gras was too as the burnt flavour overpowered the delicate taste of the liver. Mains we had the confit which was beautiful, I just wish the potatoes were crispy rather than very soft and Chateaubriand with Béarnaise sauce. The Béarnaise was a bit too acidic for my taste, but the steak was impeccable and the potatoes were crispy and beautiful, wish I had these with the confit. Desserts were a let down, the pear and almond tart was overcooked and lacked any flavour of almond and the Rothschild soufflé lacked any and all flavour of cherry, it tasted like egg and sugar and was way too liquid. Overall not bad and it is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAEasyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Robert very kindly opened his restaurant to us for a staff luncheon on Saturday. It was certainly worth the drive from Blairgowrie, and was surprisingly easy to find as I don't like driving on freeways and so went back roads. Anyway, much more importantly, let's talk about the meal. It was excellent. For starters we had either salmon terrine, chicken livers or a tomato salad. Raves all around. Most had a magnificent looking fillet steak for main course, I had an outstanding kabeljou and there was chicken breast chosen by two. At one stage we all laughed, because it takes a lot for all of us to be quiet at the same time. It was the standard of the food! What's more we all made space for dessert, which was either vanilla soufflé with strawberries, pear tart or coffee and pecan nut icecream. They were all as good as they sound. We knew that we had to take our wine so we were well prepared. I cannot comment on the ambience because we were the only patrons there, but I liked the idea of separate rooms which makes for intimate dining. All in all, a most pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeAndDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love the Chef Robert's enthusiasm and excellent cuisine”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding meal. My sons, after three courses had the desert twice. Yummy nougat ice cream.
We have been there several times and have not been disappointed

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gisela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Delices De France also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Les Delices De France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing