We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Extremely slow check inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Milpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Milpark
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extremely slow check inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Arrived here at 11pm and it took reception staff 25 min to check us inn. First they could not find our reservation even though we had print outs of confirmation from online booking, then the printer was not working. Rooms were dated but clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imraan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    97
    38
    15
    12
See reviews for
56
32
12
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Well, I am not really sure how to rank this hotel (thus the three star "average" rating).
It is so far the only hotel I have ever stayed at in South Africa so I have nothing to compare it to.

The front desk office staff was very accommodating and helpful. Some of them went out of their way to help me out. The bell hop was also quite pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was nice and the wait staff were all super friendly and courteous.

But the rooms. yi yi yi yi yi Just awful! One night my room was over a very loud parking lot with people drinking to all hours. The other three nights I was in a different room and was kept awake with the road noise. The rooms are small, somewhat dingy and not well appointed. The bathroom was a joke. The internet service almost non service-able. And you have to pay for the fitness center which is through a garage and up an escalator. I think it was $12 USD.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristinehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night.
I've had good experiences at garden courts before, but this wasn't that. isolated feel, outdated rooms with old fashioned aircon - room service food was terrible...AND they don't offer a port service from the car park across the road so you have to lug your bags yourself..
At breakfast they offer you a coffee to go service but they did not have any take away cups...
This hotel was my hotel of choice from 2004 until 2006 and then started to go downhilll fast.
I will not stay here by choice again!! I

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reyhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixopo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

very nice place to stay, the only bad part is we arrived at the hotel at 01:00 and it took us an hour to check in to 8 rooms and we were the only people there to check in. then finally when we get to our rooms the cards never work and some were mixed up.
other than that its a nice place to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Thank goodness I was only booked here for one night! I've had good experiences at other southern sun and garden courts before, but this wasn't that. Institutional feel, dated 70's rooms with Formica etc urgently needing refurb, poor food, luke-warm shower, horrible lobby,... I could go on, but you get the picture. It would be more acceptable if the price was in keeping with the location and quality, but there is just no relation - way overpriced.
On the plus side... Friendly staff, comfortable mattress, and that's about it.
Recommendation: go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I would not recommend staying there as the hotel is too expensive in terms of what you get for the money.

The nice things: a water boiler, tea and coffee and cookies in the room, the breakfast is nice also. And there is an AC/heater in the rooms.

Not-nice things: The service is unprofessional. When making the reservation I was quoted the wrong rate. Upon arrival I was first put to a wrong room (smoking, for a person with allergies definitely the wrong move...if you dont wanna stay in a smelly old room, ask for a non-smoking room and make sure ou get it!) with a key that had another persons name on it. I did not really like the rooms, the carpet is old and dirty and during my stay orange sticky points appeard on it (as a result of cleaning efforst?). The same colour ended up on part of my clothes (a coincidence?). Internet is not included and is expensive and often not working anyway.

The hotel is also not close to anything much, except the smallish Pick and Pay across the street, and the surroundings are not atractive. If I the room had been half-price maybe it would be worth it...Next time will stay in some of the small guest houses in the area, I will be better off.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

My company put me up in this excuse of an hotel for two weeks. During this time I have experienced one of the worst stays of my life.

Rooms are old, showercurtains dirty. Floors sticky. Only one plug per room

The outside area closes at 8 so don't expect to be able to have a meal or drink outside.

Reception is useless. Took me 40 minutes to check in. Room access card didn't work, another 30 minutes.

Then every, and I mean every day the room access card had to be reprogrammed. Never worked longer than a day.

The breakfast, ok, loads of food from the night before, fruit salad not fresh and cheese and meet frozen.

The restaurant. Overpriced, only two vegetarian meals, everything soaked in oil. Only burgers, steaks and fried food. Service is slower than a snail.

Don't stay here, not worth the money. Stay away.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmate182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Parktonian All-Suite
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#22 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#36 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Milpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Milpark

Property: Garden Court Milpark
Address: Cnr Empire Road and Owl Street | Auckland Park, Johannesburg 2006, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Milpark 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both business and leisure travel the Garden Court Milpark Hotel is conveniently situated near the Johannesburg CBD. It offers everything that travellers expect from Garden Court hotels as well as that something extra that makes guests return time and again. Free High Speed WiFi Internet for Hotel Residents capped at 350MB per room, per day. In addition, it is the ideal destination for visitors needing access to the Universities of Witwatersrand and Johannesburg or the Milpark Hospital as well as the internationally renowned shopping complexes in Parktown, Rosebank and Sandton. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Court Milpark Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing