We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Italian Basil Fawlty”

Sale E Pepe da Giovanni
Ranked #504 of 1,184 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An Italian Basil Fawlty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Tried to make a booking with the owner who was like Basil Fawlty in his rudeness. When he said that there was no bookings just come I asked for rough directions and was told to just come very rudely. I have eaten all over the world and not had this treatment. Try Luca's or Luigi's at least you get a smile as well as great food

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great italian cuisine in Sandton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is not your average restaurant. You should most certainly pop in and give one of their pastas a try. I cannot really say much about each pasta as I am vegetarian however you cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. Their prices may be a bit high but their portions and quality do make up for it. Try one of their home made pastas as fresh is always better!

You can easily share a meal between two. Not the most romantic setting but well worth it to enjoy with friends. Always worth enjoying a starchy evening with a few couples or friends.

Try the caprese salad as a starter.

An interesting word to note... Giovanni who runs this restaurant started most of the italian restaurants of this style by himself or trained those who now run other Giovanni's in the City of Johannesburg

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All time favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great food and portions are big enough for 2. Make sure you get there early as they don't take bookings and it is generally full. Friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of my best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't give 5 star ratings very easily but I can't fault this restaurant at all. Food portions are big enough for two so don't be put off by the price. I visit this restaurant at least 3 times a month.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner here. The restaurant was packed on a Tuesday night, seemingly with returning patrons. Nice buzz, great food, excellent service - will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale E Pepe da Giovanni also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sale E Pepe da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing