We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new find for me”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Classic India

The Classic India
Ranked #192 of 1,183 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A new find for me”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The food is extremely good and good value for money.
The waiters are attentive and pleasant, the manager is there and supervises.
They also let you bring your own wine, corkage charged, of course and we were accommodated pleasantly and with no fuss.
We rally enjoyed our meal and the experience. I can recommend The Classic India wholeheartedly .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GundaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Indian Food...Curries, Butter Chicken..When You are away From India”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The classic India restaurant chain offers nice indian culinary experience in the land of Gold and Lions..
The Ambience is nice and service i found is very good..
Taste is awesome too..
Overall it is very nice joint particularly for people like me who keep visiting Johannesburg for Business Visits and where sometimes you can become wary of the Local food.
This time around i went there almost once in two days for my stay which was around for a month and did not feel any lacuna in terms of service as well as the Quality and the Quantity of the Food on offer
Overall it is a nice restaurant to Visit, rather its a must visit if you like Indian Spicey food..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kushalshete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great curry and great value for money”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

In our view the food here ranks with the best around and the value for money is great. We have always found the service to be good.

Helpful?
Thank Benjohn1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious food... very poor service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We decided to try the Classic India for Valentines lunch. It was relatively quiet so we expected the service to be good but in fact, it was horrible. After being seated, we waited for 15 min for a waiter. On receipt of the menu (eventually), we waited another 10min for our order to be taken. For starters, we tried the veg manchurian (dry) - absolutely yumtastic! For mains, we ordered the malai kofta, paneer and veg jafrezi - can't fault it. Definitely worth the food, pity about the service though.

Mr & Mrs Naidoo

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey_The_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hair raising food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was happy at the thought that this restaurant would be as good as the review suggests. On a hot sunny weekend we walked in to the restaurant to find the place empty with only few tables occupied leaving us a lot to choose from. We nestled ourselves in one cozy corner in the restaurant. The place exuded a good vibe with the aroma of indian spices lingering in the air. That turned our stomachs and we jumped on to the menu to find a variety of things we can devour. We settled on paneer corn tikka to name a few. And boy that arrived on our table in 15 mins to be precise. The aroma was so tempting that we grabbed the cutlery and started slicing and dicing the food without a seconds delay. The taste was AWESOME- one of the best starters i had in a while, it smelled and tasted like pure butter splashed on a patty of paneer (cottage cheese) and corn. Wow, that was divine. But you see happiness is short-lived and so was the case, i found hair in the food to be shocked. While i dont want to fuss over it but a good restaurant should avoid such embarrasment. The dish was promptly replaced by the manager and we were back in action. We enjoyed the food but were careful before putting it in which is something you dont want to have when enjoying your meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swaptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classic India also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Classic India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing