We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Wilderness around OR Tambo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malandela Guest Manor
Ranked #21 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A welcome clean friendly and reasonable lodge very well positioned for OR Tambo .
Swimming Pool food and very friendly staff help make this a desirable destination!
Marina and her husband and staff were extremely helpful in attending to my every need in preparing my vehicle and equipment for the forthcoming overland tour. especially lizzie in the kitchen...wow....

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very good. A weekend local wedding party was being celebrated whilst I was there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topnotchted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Me and my son stay in this beautiful accomodation twice . The owners are very friendly and helpfull. We stayed here because our booked place was full. Afterall we are lucky to stay in this place and i will come back and is highly recommended. Also very close to OR Tambo int Airport.
Thanks to Marina who is a wonderfull host.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After being delayed in 2 other accommodation places we were relocated to this beautiful haven in the back blocks of JBurg. Totally safe, beautiful gardens and decor and homely welcoming accommodation. Well worth our wait. The most friendly hosts and owners plus their pets. Highly recommended. 4 Aussies

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ok, here is the truth, it is far from the center. But the more important truth is that Marina is the best host you could get in South Africa. I have not met such a helpful amazing woman, and i have traveled a lot! This guesthouse is actually the home of Marina and her family, and they host you in one of the few rooms they have here. They make you feel home, they worry about you and make sure to satisfy all the needs you have, they make phones to arrange staff related to your visit, they transport you from one place to another, they bring milk if you ask for it, or take you to buy food if you don't have the power for dining outside, whatever you want they will arrange for you! In this large house, you can find several corners, such as a billiard room, kitchen, big garden with places to sit and have coffee or just read a book, there is even a large swimming pool. In summary, it is a peaceful nice place.So, if you have a car, there is absolutely not issue in picking Marina's place as the place to stay around JNB, however, if you depend on public transportation, then Marina or her husband, or their sun will be happy to drop you off at the train station/ airport or anywhere else. I highly recommend this place as the service here is exquisite and you won't gonna get such service anywhere else in JNB.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We found this manor by accident but this one night stay was remarkable! The lady of the house was friendly, very motherly and was very concerned about us after a night time incident on the the Jo'burg motorway. The next morning, the man of the house was equally shocked and concerned over the incident! This is a very warm and safe place to stay! I only wish I had time to use the beautiful, large pool!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OcontoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at Malandela guesthouse will remain in our memories forever. Located in a beautiful old house in the middle of Joburg, Malandela offers a nice and different experience of the crowded city. The owner of the house are warm and charming people with an excellent ability for cooking. The rooms are furnished with love to the detail and one feels comfortable from the beginning on. A stay in this guesthouse is warmly recommended and will not dissapoint anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I joined a large party of international guests staying at Malandela for a conference. We so enjoyed our stay. Marina and Danie are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble or their guests. It doesn't matter how many guests were around the breakfast table, Marina was unfussed and served us all so well with really excellent food.

It was so nice sitting on the veranda in the winter sun chatting and having lunch that we bought in.

The rooms are very comfortable and everything seems to be new and in perfect running order. Being very close to the main airport and in a beautiful large garden, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same leading out onto a veranda, whether upstairs or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntheaGilfillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
16.9 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.5 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,381 reviews
18.2 mi away
Blu Trea
Blu Trea
#24 of 299 in Johannesburg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
#50 of 299 in Johannesburg
110 reviews
27.7 mi away
Villa Schreiner
Villa Schreiner
#35 of 299 in Johannesburg
101 reviews
18.3 mi away
33 on First Guest House
33 on First Guest House
#37 of 299 in Johannesburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malandela Guest Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malandela Guest Manor

Address: 177, East Road, Brentwood Park, Johannesburg 1630, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malandela Guest Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Malandela Guest Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing