We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite service at the garden-house of the host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malandela Guest Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malandela Guest Manor
Ranked #44 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exquisite service at the garden-house of the host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ok, here is the truth, it is far from the center. But the more important truth is that Marina is the best host you could get in South Africa. I have not met such a helpful amazing woman, and i have traveled a lot! This guesthouse is actually the home of Marina and her family, and they host you in one of the few rooms they have here. They make you feel home, they worry about you and make sure to satisfy all the needs you have, they make phones to arrange staff related to your visit, they transport you from one place to another, they bring milk if you ask for it, or take you to buy food if you don't have the power for dining outside, whatever you want they will arrange for you! In this large house, you can find several corners, such as a billiard room, kitchen, big garden with places to sit and have coffee or just read a book, there is even a large swimming pool. In summary, it is a peaceful nice place.So, if you have a car, there is absolutely not issue in picking Marina's place as the place to stay around JNB, however, if you depend on public transportation, then Marina or her husband, or their sun will be happy to drop you off at the train station/ airport or anywhere else. I highly recommend this place as the service here is exquisite and you won't gonna get such service anywhere else in JNB.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
25
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We found this manor by accident but this one night stay was remarkable! The lady of the house was friendly, very motherly and was very concerned about us after a night time incident on the the Jo'burg motorway. The next morning, the man of the house was equally shocked and concerned over the incident! This is a very warm and safe place to stay! I only wish I had time to use the beautiful, large pool!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OcontoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at Malandela guesthouse will remain in our memories forever. Located in a beautiful old house in the middle of Joburg, Malandela offers a nice and different experience of the crowded city. The owner of the house are warm and charming people with an excellent ability for cooking. The rooms are furnished with love to the detail and one feels comfortable from the beginning on. A stay in this guesthouse is warmly recommended and will not dissapoint anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I joined a large party of international guests staying at Malandela for a conference. We so enjoyed our stay. Marina and Danie are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble or their guests. It doesn't matter how many guests were around the breakfast table, Marina was unfussed and served us all so well with really excellent food.

It was so nice sitting on the veranda in the winter sun chatting and having lunch that we bought in.

The rooms are very comfortable and everything seems to be new and in perfect running order. Being very close to the main airport and in a beautiful large garden, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same leading out onto a veranda, whether upstairs or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the second year(May, 2012, June 4-11, 2013) that Malandela Guest House has hosted our speakers for a conference. Let me try in short words or phrases to convey why we came back and would not pursue any other place in future, except Malandela.
It's elegant, peaceful, gorgeous setting. We sat for hours on the veranda each day, upstairs and downstairs enjoying the sun and quiet settings, beautiful landscaping off veranda, great poolside and it was beginning of winter, no swimming, hahaha.
The hosts/owners Danai & Marina, former owners of one of most popular restaurants in JoBurg, serve delicious breakfast or any other meal you desire. They are gracious hosts. The greatest service I have experienced in over 76 countries of the , this is my favorite! I'm from Dallas, Texas, USA.

Room Tip: They all have veranda access, upstairs and downstairs. The bathtub is a huge corner tub with separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
17.8 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#6 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
motel Mi Pi CHi
motel Mi Pi CHi
#14 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
33 on First Guest House
33 on First Guest House
#38 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Life on 3rd
Life on 3rd
#19 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#12 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Melville Turret Guest House
The Melville Turret Guest House
#43 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malandela Guest Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malandela Guest Manor

Property: Malandela Guest Manor
Address: 177, East Road, Brentwood Park, Johannesburg 1630, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malandela Guest Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Malandela Guest Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing