We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and atmosphere! Fantastic all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Teta Mari

Teta Mari
Ranked #269 of 1,186 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere! Fantastic all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I love this place as they have everything down to a tee. This is a family run business which is run very well. There is a meal for everyone here and you will not be disappointed in any way. From starters to mains and deserts, everything has been well thought out.

For vegetarians there is a wide selection on the menu of which each item is just about made fresh to order much like everything else. There are some items on the menu that you will surely not find very easily in the city so this is definitely a differentiating factor.

Presentation and the quality of the food is probably one of the best in Johannesburg. This restaurant is very clean, well equipped and the staff have been well trained. There is nothing negative I can say about this place other than it making my stomach larger and that they are not open in the evenings (yet).

On a hot summers day, enjoy sitting outside with family or friends having some home made lemonade and mouth watering cake. Oh, I forgot to add that their breakfasts are well worth a try. Sit down and relax here on any day in the week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BIRTHDAY BLISS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved the Israeli menu, made me want to be in Israel, food and service was great, the owners came and chatted and checked up and the overall food, service, ambiance and friendliness really made my birthday, I will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TwiggsWillis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My Gran didn't cook like this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Teta Mari translates as Granny Mari. Here you will find a combination of Israeli staples - felafel, hummus, schwarma and American deli food and some superb prego rolls thrown in for good measure Their Reuben sandwiches in a choice of three sizes are great. The food is very well presented and is lip-smackingly good. It has very appealing decor and a small deck which abuts onto a parking lot but don't let that bother you at all. A wide range of dishes are also available to take home. If only my Gran old have cooked like this !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
214 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Mediterranean food with a difference in unexpected decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This little cafe run by three women definitely has a woman's touch. The chandelier and glass shelves with the mirrors and glass surrounds gives a nice light feel to the place. There is a green tiled wall and a pressed ceiling which gives it an interesting ambience. The wooden deck outside gives it an airy feel even though it looks onto a parking lot.
In addition to the mediterranean food there is also baked goods which for those with a sweet tooth, is appealing. The beef on rye is well presented and very tasty. The quinoa salad adapted for my quirks was very tasty and interestingly done.
The staff are friendly as are the owners, at least one always being present.
I enjoy knitting the squares for charity whenever I am there. These are left for others to continue and a woman comes weekly to collect them to make blankets. So not only does one have a delicious meal in pretty surroundings, but also feels that one is making a contribution to society albeit small ;-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaConcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teta Mari also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Teta Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing