We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! Great Ambience!”
Review of Buddha Ta - CLOSED

Buddha Ta
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Ambience!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Summer Vegetarian Pasta was cooked and flavoured to perfection. The Phuket Board also provided an interesting variety of exotic morsels. The setting was truly beautiful with rich black and maroon decor and huge stone Buddha statues strategically placed and lit with mood lights. The massive bar and equally huge Buddha statue right across from it are truly a sight to see! My only problems: the restaurant was way too dark, music too loud and the service was pretty lacklustre. Yes, the lighting and music added to the cool ambience, but was not very practical! We went through to the 'club' upstairs after dinner. The grey, dimly lit stairway built up a great sense of anticipation but the club turned out to be pretty disappointing. Tiny dance floor, way too many drunk hen party girls and crappy music (in my opinion). Buddha Ta definitely looks like the place to be, hip, happening and pumping with trendy people and blaring music. Personally, I may go there for dinner again but won't waste my time with the dancing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamtaMithal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great dinner with good company”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

the vibe, the food it was all good! Except that the hostess came across as a bit aggravated by me being a few minutes late for my reservation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank candis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stick with what you know.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

While the cocktails are really worth every cent, I would strongly suggest eating elsewhere. We ordered the Chicken Mussaman Curry, and my partner ordered the Chicken and Prawn curry. I put all the chicken to one side and got about a chicken wings worth. My partner had the same amount of chicken and 3 very dry and dead prawns. It was, for all intents and purposes, a vegetarian meal.

As the evening was supposed to be a romantic night, it was severely spoiled by the food. Not a great experience and definitely not worth the money spent. The manager didn't offer anything to help save the evening, which in itself speaks volumes for how much they value their client base.

Overall a horrible experience, but such is the nature of trying a new restaurant. My advice would be to stick with what you love and know.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant ambiance. Superb tapas”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tapas are great. Good to go with friends as the Music is a bit too loud if you are sitting inside. But great venue and ambiance.Early reservations are essential over weekends as it gets really busy after 9pm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethGeo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Asian Tapas = Unusual!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived after the usual lunchtime and the place was empty.
Ordering Asian style Tapas is unusual, with sweet and sour pork, chilli beef, chicken satay as well as deep fried chillis.
I could imagine it would be a cool place to hang out in the evenings but lacked atmosphere in the daytime!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Ta also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing