We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Italian hospitality and cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante La Trinita

Ristorante La Trinita
Ranked #8 of 1,173 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At La Trinita our customers are not walking credit cards. When you ask for "the usual" you know that you are being served with YOU in mind. Ristorante La Trinita offers an unrivalled menu of simple and incredible everyday Italian dishes. By utilizing only the freshest of ingredients and making our own pasta and pizza bases you are guaranteed of freshness without the preservatives.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian hospitality and cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Attention to detail with a personal touch. Fantastic atmosphere in the place created Lala and Tessa. This must be my favourite restaurant in Jhb

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikie692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    25
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The Personal touch of a family run restaurant makes a huge difference. Every time we go there is a big welcome, even when we take friends they get remembered, including La La remembering what everyone's favourite is.
Our favourites are: spaghetti vongole run through with a touch of chilli, 24 hour marinated baby chicken, lasagna, calves liver, fillet in pepper sauce. All the pasta is made on the premises and anything can be made to suit your taste, all you have to do is ask.
La la and Tessa are the best.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Say-it-straight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tralala to Lala and Tessa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

It makes you want to sing. The best Italian food not only in Johannesburg but all of South Africa.
You just can't wait to go back for more of that delicious food.
Lala and Tessa are warm, friendly, attentive,and make you feel so welcome.
Everything we ate was mouth wateringly tasty and fresh, from the salad to the pizza ,the pastas and the delicious pana cotta.
No wonder it is on the list of the worlds 101 best restaurants to eat.
We will be back again and again to try all the wonderful dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaJHBSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were a table of 16. Food was mostly poor, with 3 people not eating their meals due to bad quality. Arrived at the restaurant at 19:00, ordeded at 19:20 and got our food at 21:45. Never again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamita M, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante La Trinita, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Rene thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned that you were so dissatisfied. La Trinita is run and managed by the owners themselves who are hands on and extremely attentive to everyone of their patrons. Being a table of 16 would mean that you had to have made a reservation. With regard to reservations La-La speaks to the patrons herself to confirm the reservation and also discuss the menu. La-La and Tessa constantly engage with patrons to make sure that they are happy with the food and service. If you were so unsatisfied with the food and service surely they would have known about it and did everything in their power to make sure that your experience at La Trinita was a positive one. Therefore it brings me to my question: have you not maybe placed your review in the wrong place?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

La Trinita is the best around. Lala and her mom go out of their way to create a superb atmosphere and excellent service. Their dishes, everything from pasta, pizza and meat are to die for. From the friendly welcome to the service and the meal, it is always a great occasion when one visits there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamita M, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante La Trinita, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you Francois, it was indeed a pleasure to have you. We strive to give our best. Hoping to see you again soon...the La Trinita Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Trinita also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ristorante La Trinita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing