We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance, food and service are lovely!”
Review of Karoo Cattle and Land - CLOSED

Karoo Cattle and Land
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ambiance, food and service are lovely!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was the best restaurant I've visited so far in SA. A little similar to Zest. Dim light, original decorations, candles on the table.. very romantic. The size of meal was enormous! We ordered burgers and house wine. To our surprise, we were offered free salads for startes. The choice is huge, I loved potato salad and cus cus the most. The value is great! The service was excellent, quick. Even the manager came and asked very friendly how is everything. This restaurant made our evening!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    14
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good alternative to the hotel Restaurant.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

5 min walk from the Rosebank hotel, this place is a gem if you like traditional South African cooking. Food was excellent and the service was excellent as well. Plus side I payed with a Thomas Cook Cash passport, and did not get charged a percentage for using it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulA126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for money Filet steak”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A pleasant setting with a balcony ,sadly overlooking very busy Witkoppen Road.They have a free salad buffet for starters, but not with a great choice and rather average dressing.However there is a super value there for what they call " a really big filet steak", it is a toned down version of the famous Chateaubriand - without flames and sauce bearnaise!.It is served for 2 people with chips or rice and some veggies. Filet is really very well prepared ,plenty for 2 people and very tasty.With a good price and have been there to have it already 4 times in 2012!. Wine list in average and service as nearly everywhere in SA rather slow and not well trained, but one is unfortunately used to it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danutam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average dinner”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

On arrival the lady welcoming us was very friendly which impressed me from the word go. Service started off really well with the waiter being attentive. Everything was great from decor to ambience.... The only thing I am not impressed about is the food. If you don't order a sauce for your steak, be prepared for a bland tasteless piece of meat. Whats a bonus is that they have a small fireplace where they put skewered marshmallows and chocolate dipping sauce. this is nice for extra socialising with friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GCSJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good food, indifferent service”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stay at City Lodge about 100m from Karoo for a week each month. So I usually eat here at least once a month. The menu is pretty good with steaks, burgers, chicken, lots of starters, traditional S African, plus vegetarian. Steaks are R100-150. The food is good with decent portion size. Some of the staff are very good, but others are poor and you often wait an age for the bill / change. If they get the staffing right this would be a "Very Good".

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoo Cattle and Land also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing