We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joburg's best schwarmas”
Review of The Schwarma Co

The Schwarma Co
Ranked #41 of 1,204 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Schwarma & Grill, Mediterranean an Middle Eastern Cuisine
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Joburg's best schwarmas”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

There is a wide range of fresh shwarma fillings that you get to choose from.

It is a very relaxed dining experience and is a popular spot for young and old alike.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    64
    7
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tastiest and best Schwarma”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I enjoy schwarmas, which is challenging to do in the US. This is small business owned by 2 Palestinians in Johannesburg, South Africa. The food is authentic, extremely inexpensive, and filling. There is a huge selection of salads to put in the pita, and of course the meats add flavor to the mix. I travel there regularly, and never pass up the opportunity to enjoy a meal there. I cannot recommend this place strongly enough!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good authentic Middle Eastern food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Middle Eastern food is definitely one of my favourites, and after having visited Egypt many times over the past few years it’s great to find a really good authentic Middle Eastern restaurant serving the “real thing” so close to home.

The range of traditional Lebanese dishes are extensive and we started with the mezze platter with a selection of salads – which you choose from creamy hummus and tahina, various eggplant salads and pickled artichokes, to mention but a few – this is served with piping hot falafel and pita bred to scoop it all up with – I found the one piece of pita bread per person was definitely not enough.
I then had a beef schwarma in a pita – the beef was really tender and cooked to perfection with garlic and different herbs for the authentic taste, it was then shredded and stuffed in to the pita bread with you choice of salads and sauces – there was definitely no skimping on the fillings especially the meat.
My husband had the lamb schwarma, and was equally impressed.
We had a jug of lemon juice with mint to drink – the homemade lemonade was a great unbelievably good and refreshing, especially as it was quite hot.
We finished the meal with Turkish coffee which had cardamom added – it brought back memories of the street cafes in the old areas of Cairo.

This was my second visit to the Schwarma Company and it definitely not be my last.

They also have a small range of Lebanese and other Middle Eastern products, sweets and homemade cakes / pastries to buy which are not freely available in other supermarkets.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Bloemhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Possibly some of the best middle-eastern food I've eaten anywhere. The Schwarma was the best I've ever had - and I've eaten a hell of a lot of Schwarma in my life. I also like the system of going up to the counter and picking the salads to put in your pita.
I dropped a star for only once reason - I ordered hummus as a started, while it was delicious and there was plenty of it, I was only given one measily little pita to dip. C'mon, don't skip on the bread!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tcrowell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always great middle eastern schwarmas!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great vibe, all the time. specialising in schwarmas, with a counter of 20 fillings to complement the meat. delicious hummus, tahina, fatoushe, parsley wheat salads. the portions are quite sizable. There are side chickpea fritters or schwarma pizzas to nibble on. The homemade lemonade is great too and when they have baklava you must try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadamBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Schwarma Co also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Schwarma Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing