We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Moemas patisserie and food shop - CLOSED

Moemas patisserie and food shop
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I went there today and ordered macon, it was way past the expiry date and was very 'vrot'. I wonder if any other ingredients in my food were also expired if they feel if its okay to serve expired meat...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Since having read so many rave reviews about Moemas, we went to have breakfast there on a Saturday morning but were a bit disappointed - the menu was nice, the service not so nice and the atmosphere not great (but not aweful). The chairs were wobbly, the table was wobbly, tables were too close to each other, a bit squashed - just another too full cafe.
I would not advise against going there at all, we were just not blown away.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AndyvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Moemas....yummy!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

A friendly little "neighbourhood bakery" with a slightly more modern feel.
The service can be a little slow, but not irritatingly so.
The pastries, tarts and other yummy's are....well.....yummy! A great place for breakfast, they make their own granola, try their health breakfast - it's to-die-for!

They do catering and take orders for most of their delicious offerings.

Incredible cakes and pastries, for sure!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimeelloyd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely little Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had the high tea here with a friend. It was such a treat I enjoyed all the eats. They serve everything on beautiful plates and the presentation is just delightful. Service was good, the view is of a parking lot but the vibe is nice enough.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tennille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pastries with Passion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The most delicious cakes, tarts and savouries. Try their omelettes, granola, fruit tarts, meringues.. in fact try everything as it is made with love from real ingredients especially butter and chocolate. Enough good things to keep you on Lipitor for a year. Coffee is also awesome. Service is fantastic. Parking lot is not great but who care when the cake is hitting the spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moemas patisserie and food shop also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing