We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gandhi House - redesigned by the late Rocco Boseman, my dear friend.”
Review of Satyagraha House

Satyagraha House
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.87*
and up
Mahatma Gandhi and Satyagraha Private Tour of Johannesburg
More Info
$175.25*
and up
6-Hour Private Guided Johannesburg City Tour
Ranked #22 of 177 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gandhi House - redesigned by the late Rocco Boseman, my dear friend.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

'The Gandhi House' as the locals refer to it as, is one of the most serene places to visit in Johannesburg. My friend, the late, Rocco Boseman, was hired to turn the simple dwelling into a boutique hotel and venue, while preserving the integrity that Gandhi had so beautifully cultivated while living there. It is a unique combination of history, accommodation and reflection on a man and his spiritual journey. From the understated light fixtures to the calm gardens and visual reminders of Gandhi's time spent there- are all working in absolute harmony, thanks to Rocco's vision and absolute sense of visual integrity. Rocco's memorial service was held there, as he passed away shortly before he could enjoy the opening of this lovely place he helped to re-create, and the vegetarian food and staff were just as lovely as the surroundings. I hope to stay there one day and soak up all the light and love that it contains.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Schappeartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    27
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing visit”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was really amazing seeing everything and how he lived as well as all the information about his travels and his life here in SA. Lots to read as well as interesting

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a piece of paradise where you can sleep”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

It is too bad that Jo'Bo does not command to stay a whole week, because the pleasure to stay in this boutique hotel is great.
I am sensitive to good vibes and positive atmosphere. This special place where MK Gandhi stayed (there is a museum inside) is full of positive energy and good vibration.
Great luxurious proposition; exceptional veggie cuisine (no alcohol either) very kind employees and top manager, this place is not like any hotel I have ever stayed in, it a luxurious meditation and special energy place . Walk bear foot on the grass ans in the museum and you will instantly know what I mean.
The room in the old building wth a fire place are the best.
Just give me another reason to go back to Jo'bo, and I will know for sure I ll be back in this special place

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeromecamblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
844 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great and very well-designed and lovely minimalist boutique hotel, also serve meals if booked in advance. Really interesting to see more of Gandhi's life, this is where he lived in Johannesburg.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, inspirational and tranquil place in Joburg”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have visited twice - once during the day for a tour and a second time for dinner. The tour is very interesting with lots of detail about Ghandi's time there and the satyagraha philospohy. the house and the garden are beautifully done. the dinner was excellent - all vegetarian and every course was delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dianainspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satyagraha House also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Satyagraha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing