We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Licorish Bistro

Licorish Bistro
Ranked #5 of 1,208 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We merge the classic and the contemporary to create fusion between food and culture for a new South African palate. We're at the Nicolway Shopping Centre, Bryanston
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Fantastic food and service. Will go back again for sure!!
The tasting plates are great ideas and work very well to give you a taste of everything.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StratisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    196
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Beef Tasting Plate... Lamb Cigars bland...”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Recently took my wife to lunch at Licorish for her birthday... Prior booking made with ease. Waiters were very helpful, but were a tad confused regarding available wines by glass... The butter chicken starter was simply delightful, very good flavors. For mains, I tried the beef tasting plate on recommendation from friends and waiter...WOW, it lived up to expectation and made to perfection, especially the mustard flavored portion... Unfortunately the lamb tasting plate wasn't available for my wife (we were told some things were out of stock!), so she settled on the Lamb Cigars, while well presented, it lacked flavor (frankly just bland)...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummiest meal”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was one of my yummiest meals, I had Kudu fillet which was so tender, flavour some and a delight to the taste buds. I am a fillet fan but not a game person so this was daring in itself. All I can say I am really thrilled that this was my choice. Then for dessert I shared the Amarula source and chocolate pastry fingers. This was nice, very rich it's best to share this dessert. The rest of
our group had Salmon which was so divine, bunny chow also yum, and lamb cigars apparently yum. Our waiter was superb. Great vibe. Will be going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great memories”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I went on my first date in August 2013 with my now Boyfriend, it was both our first time here, we loved the breakfast, we had to go back again just to make sure it wasn't the promise of a new romance that made the food taste amazingly delicious. The food and atmosphere was as god as the first time and we are regulars there now. The staff are very friendly and i am always curious what the chef has on offer everytime.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick lunches, great food and leisurely dinners”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Prompt, efficient service delivers delicious food EVERYTIME! The tasting menus provides excellent variety in BIGGER bite sized portions that leaves you satisfied with an explosions of tastes (although the lamb taster is mediocre). Fish, fillet and fantastic desserts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SN666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licorish Bistro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Licorish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing