We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Licorish Bistro

Licorish Bistro
Ranked #5 of 1,210 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We merge the classic and the contemporary to create fusion between food and culture for a new South African palate. We're at the Nicolway Shopping Centre, Bryanston
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

When i find out that i will be dining at Licorish, i did my research, checked the menu online and read the reviews. Menu is very sophisticated. After much deliberation i chose the Lamb testing plate. Food was interesting and well cooked, but the portion was very small.
The place was very noisy. It was 3 of us so we can lead a normal conversation, but a bigger table will have difficulty interacting as the noise is too much. On the positive: waiter was good and had a knowledge of the menu. Don't think i'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    198
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“tasting plates”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The tasting plates are awesome and we will be back to enjoy the others soon..! This was a memory experience well worth it.. ;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohannVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great expectations exceeded”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived with great expectations as we had been hyped by a friend who had thought it was really great. Well our expectations were exceeded...not only was the food exceptional but on a really busy Friday evening we had superb service from a very well informed young man called Richard. His knowledge and understanding of the menu was incredible and his recommendation of the chilli sea salt squid starter was an excellent start. The concept of tasting platters is a brilliant idea because if you are anything like me you have a tough time selecting from a menu where everything looks delectable. This way you get to try 3 small delicious portions. Also tried the dessert tasting patter amongst the 4 of us even though we were all full just because we felt we had to not miss out on anything and so glad we did as the licorice ice cream was outstanding. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“The steak is to die for!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Wow! The tasting plate of fillet steak is a mesmerizing taste experience. A fantastic wine list, brilliant service and stylish decor. The tasting plate was amazing, my only regret being that I did not have any space left for the dessert tasting plate! A very, very good JHB restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for dinner with great expectations and every one was met and exceeded. We were told the service was average but even on a busy Friday night it was great. The food was exceptional and in particular the lamb, fish and fillet tasting plasterers were amazing. To round it off the dinner we had licorice ice cream which was phenomenal. We will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licorish Bistro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Licorish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing