We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of my favourites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Licorish Bistro

Licorish Bistro
Ranked #4 of 1,084 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Gluten Free Options, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We merge the classic and the contemporary to create fusion between food and culture for a new South African palate. We're at the Nicolway Shopping Centre, Bryanston
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm definitely planning on going again soon. Menu is creative and food is delicious. Staff are friendly and efficient. Good portions. Lots of new things to try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sparrow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    167
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jhb
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“FantastiC lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing lunch. Great service, very tasty food. We all loved it. It is sophisticated and the food is different and innovative.

Helpful?
Thank kadJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So what?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Food sounded interesting and creative on the menu but could not keep the promise. Seared tuna starter was kind of fresh (never found in Jozi before), but only showed a very dominant chili taste. The duck nearly ran off my plate and was not medium at all, held only by some sort of gravy style sauce and mushy brinjal glue at the bottom. My husband's pork belly was both average and caused a runny tummy. The chocolate fondue (Belgian) was nice though, service very ambitioned and the wine list interesting and unusual. The noise level was quite high as in all mall restaurants, so do not go if you are up for conversation. Not worth going again, sorry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Managemant and staff at the restaurant were friendly and professional. There is no wine list - wine is selected from the wines on dislplay and the manager was there to give advice. The recommended lower price range wines were very good. The food was very tasty and reasonable portions except for the vegetarian Wellington which was on the small side. We will certainly go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We love this place - the menu is innovative and the high quality consistent. We gave them a heads-up about a particular favourite one morning., and it was served in a personalised way that night when we visited. We live outside of South Africa, but visit Johannesburg once a month, and never miss the opportunity to have a meal there. Service is great, after 2 visits we were treated like old friends and treasured guests.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licorish Bistro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Licorish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing