We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry”
Review of Licorish Bistro

Licorish Bistro
Ranked #5 of 1,211 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We merge the classic and the contemporary to create fusion between food and culture for a new South African palate. We're at the Nicolway Shopping Centre, Bryanston
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sorry”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

No, their food is just too too spicey, and the flavour, overbearing. My whole family could not enjoy anything. I only enjoyed their risotto. It's a lot more artistic than, enjoyable. Sorry a NO NO for me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    198
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Bistro with a twist”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are looking for something different on the menu then you have come to the right place. The mains and desserts are good however a little pricey. There is a variety for everyone and vegetarians should love the flavour of the limited dishes that are available. This restaurant is worth a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, well put together”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great food, interesting and unusual menu, passionate chef, pleasant staff, nice surroundings (for Gauteng :) )

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carbonblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a fabulous meal at Licorice Restaurant Nicolway”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was very uncertain when first booking at Licorice Restaurant NicolwayI, but was very splendidly surprised. We were a group of 4. I had the Duck and brinjal. Around the table the was the ribeye steak and the pork belly. The food was amazing. The sweets menu not as amazing, but we had a really unexpected great experience overall. On a windy cool evening stay clear of sitting next to one of the outside doors. I will be back and I will recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leaves1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great new find!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience really enjoyed the trio of fillet fantastic flavours, licorish ice cream was fantastic!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allangreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licorish Bistro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Licorish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing