We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely and intimate hotel, friendly staff, divine macaroons dropped off in your room at afternoon tea time. A walk away from the rosebank mall, so good for shopping as well. Their champagne bar and garden setting is such a surprise in the middle of the bustle of rosebank. level 4 restaurant will satisfy the most severe food critics, very yummy and very cosy, with a fireplace blazing and a good wine collection.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we really appreciate it. We are especially happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your time in Rosebank. We are on your doorstep so look forward to many future visits.

Kind regards
Darren

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

What was once the Grace Hotel is now a beautiful boutique hotel, in a nice part of town, connected to the upgraded (work won't be finished until fall 2014) Rosebank Mall by a marble passageway. You are greeted by name from the moment you arrive, and check in while sitting in the comfortable lounge while enjoying the seemingly endless parade of free food and drink the hotel provides. Rooms are large and tastefully appointed. Separate bath and shower. Internet is free -- other hotels, take note! -- and reasonably fast, though the log-in system is erratic. The hotel restaurant is excellent. All breakfasts come with a "fruit plate"; ours usually consisted of half a passion fruit; sliced cantaloupe, honeydew and pineapple; yogurt and a fruit compote. There's also a table with cold items: bread, more fruit, breakfast meats. We over-ate daily.

The hotel doesn't have a gym, but it does provide free access to an absolutely massive facility in the attached mall. The front desk will give you a gym bag with towel, water and water bottle, and an iPod Shuffle (!) together with your entry pass.

We used hotel cars and drivers for a number of day trips. They were all amazingly accommodating, and the tour of Soweto and (much rougher) Alexandra was a highlight of our time in Joburg.

A truly first-rate hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DRudd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear DRudd88,

Thanks so much for posting your review, we appreciate it enormously. We are delighted you enjoyed our service and facilities and do look forward to you returning very soon.

Thanks again.
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed over on a Thursday evening to enjoy the wine pairing dinner with friends.

The shuttle collected me from the Gautrain station and dropped me off at the front door of the hotel. I could check-in early which was great! The receptionist was very friendly and professional.

The room was a standard room but the layout very good. Huge King size bed with a firm mattress. Pillow menu available. The bathroom was nice but we felt the shower was too small. Room and bathroom very clean. The room was on the 5th floor- a bit noisy and no real views.

Had room service lunch- which was delivered in the 25 min as promised and delicious!

Went shopping after lunch- used the new walkway to the Rosebank Mall- floor a bit slippery- marble/granite that is polished. So be careful.

Dinner in Level 4 was exceptionally good! Will definitely try to do another this year.

Room service breakfast was disappointing with some items omitted.

All in all- A great stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors should be more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Oceangypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear oceangipsey,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate the time you take to do so. You certainly seemed to have enjoyed your stay overall however we are equally disappointed that we did not live up to expectation when it came to your room service breakfast.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards
Dudu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I ws lucky eniugh to stay here on busines for 5 days and I enjoyed exceptional service throughout. everyone working there displayed strong customer service skilks and went beyond call of duty, even as far as a hotel driver escorting me inside to my Sunday business reception in an outward buiding so as not to drop me outside wandering where to go.
I will definitely return here despite the tiny pool!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank electroshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear electroshock,

Thank you so much for the very kind review of your stay at 54 on Bath. It is so rewarding to see how much you enjoyed your stay. We really do enjoy our jobs and I am very happy to see that this manifested itself in your experience. I hope that we will welcome you back soon

regards
Dudu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This beautiful hotel is the epitome of style and world class service. I am very well traveled however this was my first visit to South Africa. From my very first communication with management by email to my final farewell, I felt totally welcomed and cared for. I am a lady traveling on my own and did not feel awkward at all. The dining room staff and food were truly world class. The hotel itself is a boutique gem. High tea was as gracious and far more personal than the famed Peninsula Hong Kong. The hotel arranged a charming and very knowledgeable guide with whom I spent the day touring the sights. Housekeeping was impeccable. The staff was incredibly warm and genuinely friendly with no pretentiousness. Kasia the Guest Service Manager was lovely. I only missed meeting the charming General Manager with whom I had corresponded but was off on his own holiday. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Elegant, well located and superbly hospitable. Thank you for a wonderful but too short stay!!

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms must be as wonderful as mine was. I would not call this hotel trendy. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Jennifer T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the team as we always strive to provide our guests with a distinctive service and a memorable stay and I believe we have achieved just that. Your words were visibly heartening to all as it gives the team tremendous recognition for their efforts.

We trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the not so distant future

Kind regards
Dudu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very helpful staff members and always prepared to assists and make your stay at the hotel comfortable. rooms are clean and in excellent condition. a week end we will cherish and remember for a long time. will recommend friend and family to support the hotel when they on holiday. convenient pathway to a fantastic shopping area. dinner facilities was excellent and the meals where good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Reg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Reg L,

Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that we managed to leave you with so many wonderful memories. Keep well and we hope to see you soon again.

kind regards
Dudu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

was about 20 minutes from airport and stayed for 3 nights then later stayed an additional 1 night. Clean, modern and easy to get around - a perfect place to stay and get around city. First night asked bellman for cab to local resturant and he stated it was to close for cab but he would walk us there (about 3 blocks and wouldn't take tip) we found it to be quite a safe area. Staff more than friendly and helpful. For people from US bring lots of $1.00 & $5.00 as it is most acceptable Rand 10.00 = $.94 and Rand 50.00 = $4.70 - easy for us to think this way in tipping. Learn where hotel employees live and maybe tip to the excess. By the way a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Front Office Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Good day,

We are absolutely delighted to see how impressed you were with the standard of service at 54 on Bath. Thank you so much for your very kind review. The team receive tremendous encouragement from wonderful feedback like yours. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back.

Regards
Dudu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
796 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 67 in Johannesburg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $223 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing