We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“54 On Bath Does It Again”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at 54 On Bath for my birthday weekend last November, and am delighted to report that the review I wrote previously still applied.

The staff are great, very friendly and efficient.
The rooms are gorgeous and the beds uber comfortable.
The Veuve Champagne Bar is to die for, and the food is delicious. Our breakfast was simply sumptuous!

Thanks to Jacques Moolman and his team for another awesome weekend get-away in the heart of jacaranda - blossomed Rosebank.

Room Tip: The corner bedrooms on the upper levels are great - you get a sprawling view of Johannesburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMAG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear HMAG101,

Thanks again for visiting 54 on Bath and for leaving another great review. It is lovely to visit 54 on Bath at any time of year but when the jacarandas are in bloom it is always an extra special time to be here. We hope you'll choose to celebrate your birthday again at 54 on Bath.

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 635 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 811 (corner room, entry level) for a one night stay. Easy & personalized check in & handwritten welcome note in room.
Hotel reminded me of a cosmopolitan European city hotel. Not too big, city views & very personalized service. In room drinks & food excellent & prompt delivery. Breakfast was amazing with a lot of healthy options such as smoothies, yogurts & freshly cut fruit. Excellent location with walkway to Rosebank Mall. Would return anytime!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Miriam C,

Thanks for visiting 54 on Bath and of course for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you noticed all the small details that set us apart from the crowd. We'd love to welcome you home next time you are in Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Spent 2 nights there about 2 weeks ago. Great service and excellent food (both room service and breakfast). Felt safe and well taken care of at all times.
Connection to Rosebank mall was under construction but still able to enter.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahovagim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear ahovagim,

We appreciate you taking time to review 54 on Bath, thank you. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit.

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in while visiting South Africa. From the moment I stepped into the lobby, I was impressed. It has a very welcoming area where people can gather to visit and enjoy complimentary afternoon tea. The room was large and well decorated. The beds here are placed next to each other with separate bedding. I heard Johannesburg was unsafe. Not true! Our hotel was in a great location with a market displaying local items and a Mall within walking distance. I never felt unsafe at all. They did suggest women should not go out walking alone in the evening. This is good advise, no matter where you are visiting. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't believe there's a "bad" room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUVTRVLNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear LUVTRVLNE,

Thanks for reviewing 54 on Bath on Trip Advisor, we are privileged to be the first hotel you visited in Johannesburg and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed both the hotel as well as Rosebank. We do offer an escorted walking service to any of our guests to and from nearby restaurants or shops should they have any qualms about walking alone however Rosebank has its own street patrollers and is one of the safest policing district in the entire city (the police station is 100 metres from the hotel) making it really safe and accessible within the 16 blocks surrounding the hotel.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Oh Wow!! The decor, service and attention to detail can only be described as Spectacular!
The dinner at the restaurant was out of this world. If you want to be totally spoilt....this has to be one of JHBs finest!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Lisa M,

Thanks for sharing your experience at 54 on Bath, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your romantic getaway and hope that you are local enough to make sure to come back and celebrate with us again very soon!

Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Chosen by our travel agent as our final stop before coming back home from our trip to Southern Africa - we were not disappointed! It felt extremely glamorous after our time in the bush! It was about a 30-45 min drive from the airport, in a section called Rosedale. The welcome was wonderful, with apple juice and a cold towel. The staff were professional and friendly. We were able to get a late-checkout for our one night stay, as our flight left late the next evening.

The hotel was all a boutique-hotel should be. Elegant, modern, decor with great taste. Breakfast was lovely, served from 7am (I believe) until 10am (or so), with a hot to-order option, as well as fruit and pastries. Our room rate included the all-inclusive breakfast. We were surprised when presented with a bill after breakfast, but it's so that you can charge a tip to your room. The service was, again, excellent. The elegantly-appointed breakfast room was adjacent to a lap pool and outdoor seating area with great views over Jo-burg.

The hotel room was beautiful, though our view was above the parking garage across the way. They included a conditioning shampoo, body wash, room spray, body lotion and hand soap. You could purchase new beautiful canisters of the amenities if you wished. There were also bath salts and a candle by the bath - so romantic! The in-room tea/coffee service was one of the best I've ever seen, with some Lindt chocolates and TWG teas (black, green, red), as well as espresso pods and parmalat pods. Fresh milk was in the amply stocked mini-fridge. They also provide two complimentary small bottles of mineral water and some sweet snacks. The blue jelly beans were delicious! The tv had a really good selection of English channels. They also had a wide selection in their pillow menu. Robes, slippers, and in-room safe were available. We were able to hear our neighbors through the vent system, but only when they were especially loud. Free wifi after setting up an account with password.

We ordered room service, which was delicious and prompt. There was a bit of a delay in retrieving the dishes, so we just set them outside our door. Complimentary newspaper in the morning was a nice touch. On check-in, we noticed that some people were having afternoon tea in the lobby. When we wanted to try it, the staff said that you needed to book in advance - I wish we had known about that earlier!

The location was excellent - our transfer driver told us that no one really lived in downtown Jo-burg, so we were happy to be within short walking distance (maybe 5 minutes on the street) of a few malls/outdoor shopping centers with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is actually connected to the Rosedale Mall, but the hallway and mall were undergoing extensive renovation while we were there so it was very dusty. It looked very promising though!

We would definitely return the next time we're in Jo-burg!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joiedevivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear joiedevivi

Thank you for posting such an extensive review on Trip Advisor we truly appreciate your in-depth descriptions of your experience. Needless to say we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that next time you will be able to enjoy one of our afternoon teas.

Thanks again
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Grace Hotel used to be my home in Johannesburg. It was good to be back, despite the changes it remains with excellent service and staff. The kitchen remains outstanding. It was good to see that I can come baqck and feel home again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Irene G,

What a privilege it is for us to read your review. The former Grace Hotel that stood here before 54 on Bath was very well-known around the world and our number one goal since opening has been to bring back the levels of service and friendliness it was known for in its heyday. Your review is testament that we are heading in the right direction and that our efforts are being recognised. We are delighted you already consider 54 on Bath your home in Johannesburg after your first visit!

Thank you
Darren Hailstones
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $197 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing