We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
54 on Bath
Nearby Hotels
$288
$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$96
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$184
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$84
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$213
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveler rating
510
123
23
2
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
123
23
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barrosebank mallgrace hotelhigh tealevel restaurantpillow menudirect accessattention to detailwelcome drinkwonderful hotelrose petalsboutique hotelwould highly recommend this hotelturn down servicetsogo sunsouth africabreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 667 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Under new management for the last couple of years, this boutique property has been made into one of the nicest and most comfortable places we have ever stayed at. From the smartly uniformed doorman who greets you at your car, to the personnel behind the counter where you check in, to the refreshments offered to you as you check in, to the beautiful lobby with classical artwork, to the bellman who takes your bags, to the housekeeping personnel who leave a snack and drink in your room each evening, to the servers in the restaurant, to the complimentary internet terminal service, everything is done in the politest, most sophisticated, classiest, and most friendly manner. The complimentary breakfast is a veritable banquet. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the African Craft Market, the Rosebank Mall, and many fine restaurants.

Room Tip: A south-facing room on an upper floor will overlook the Rosebank Mall and offer a view of the central city skyline in the distance.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear BernieDan,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we're pleased to learn that the team looked after you throughout your visit. We do hope you'll visit again when you next cross our shores.

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am a regular traveller, and the exquisite spoils of 54 on Bath, situated in the heart of Rosebank, Johannesburg, took me by surprise.

From the excellent room- and turn-down-service, to the cleanliness, the friendly assistance throughout, professional and prompt check-in and check-out; to the delicious meals at the Level 4 Restaurant, quick elevators, luscious interior and fantastic view - it was a memorable experience of note.

We stayed over Valentine's weekend, and were treated to welcome drinks and delicatessen, rose petals on the King size bed, and delectable macaroons and strawberry dacquiris in our room.

I would HIGHLY recommend the hotel to anyone; and would gladly return for another stay!

Very, VERY impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl-Heinz-Michel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Karl-Heinz-Michel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Valentine's Day was an extra special day for the team to let their creativity flow and we're pleased that you both enjoyed all the extra special touches put together for you. Do remember that 54 on Bath is where Joburg comes to celebrate so we hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked for a work commitment by my local colleagues. Recently refurbished in style. Generous rooms and bathroom. View out to the lane pool and two long windows. The staff were very engaging - down to the chef asking me if I had enjoyed breakfast when we met in the lift!

Centrally located and great value ( perhaps by European standards but it seemed great). Would definitely choose to return if I'm back.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear HT1359,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are extremely fortunate to have a combination of a great hotel and a great location but our guest experience is down to the great team of staff that run the show. Despite being open for a very short period of time we find that most of our day to day arrivals are repeat guests and we'll take great pleasure to welcome you back next time you are in Johannesburg.

Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed there on the 14th Feb 2014. The service is the best I ever received from the time I drove up!!!!!!!!!!!!
Very clean and the staff are all friendly!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms are very comfortable
The dinner and breakfast was the finest and a 1st for me.
I must go back there soon..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabianbag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Fabianbag 123,

Thanks so much for leaving your review on Trip Advisor. It's great to learn that you loved your stay over recently, it is our ultimate aim to ensure that all our guests have an experience like this. We look forward to having you return again very soon!

Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I enjoyed all that the hotel had to offer during my stay there. I was in a standard room but it was quite big and had everything i could ask for in a hotel room. The service was really good at all time of the day. The only negative is the size of the shower, a bit to small.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Manny R,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are proud to have lived up to delivering a memorable experience and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews